It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

The thread's already been cut, but I can't let go!

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Mar, 14 2013 @ 03:22 PM
link   
Hi there fellow ATSers! Hope you're all having a good evening, morning, afternoon, etc...

I really didn't think that this would be my first thread. Even now, I'm having second thoughts about typing this OP, but this situation is playing on my mind and it won't let me be, so bear with us a sec, yeah?

So I'm a 2012 graduate in London, living with the parents. The employment scene is hard here to say the least, like almost everywhere else at the moment, and a lot of young people have been left out in the cold not knowing which direction they want to take their lives in.

I had to quit my last job after New Years'; having keratoconus without contact lenses (now controlled, thankfully) prevented me from doing the specific tasks my role entailed. No one wants a employment gap on their CV, including the Department of Work and Pensions. As such, along with a number of other graduates, school-leavers and young offenders, I was carted off into the cut-throat but rewarding world of volunteering!

In the past two months I've gained a whole new skill set, made a slew of new friends, and even an interview that lead to trial shifts/an induction for a real job! It's also given me time to start working on my art again (animation grad) so it's been an awesome experience. Except for one thing...

I met a girl. (dun dun duuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuunn...)

Well, a woman. I mean, she's over eighteen, right?
But yeah, I didn't expect it, and even now, it's annoying me.