It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Fluoride in toothpaste. Baking soda as an alternative?

page: 2
<< 1   >>

join
share:

posted on Jan, 8 2013 @ 12:53 PM
link   
I've been using Tom's fluoride free for 7 or 8 years now. My teeth are in very good shape, with some fillings from my teenage years, but no cavities since then. I do not use the whitening version of the toothpaste, as it is more abrasive and causes my teeth to become sensitive after a while. I use baking soda about once a week to make them whiter, but using it too often causes sensitivity just like the whitening version of Tom's toothpaste. I prefer the Fennel flavor, as its flavor does not interfere with the taste of food and drink the way mint does.

posted on Jan, 8 2013 @ 01:42 PM
link   
Fluoride free is the way to go. I don't think it is healthy in any amount

There are some other great companies with fluoride free tooth paste such as Jason (which I use and uses sea algae ) and I can find this at my local super mart and Toms, but even some of Toms contains it as well.

My spouses grandparents used baking soda for both of their entire lives and both had a full set of teeth until he passed and she still has hers.

I also noticed that when I stopped using fluoride that i've had much more vivid dreams which I actually went a year without even remembering one, dream journal beside the bed and all. I also have heard the same thing from a friend of mine who also cut out fluoride from her daily use as well.

Luckily we don't have fluoridated water where I live

posted on Jan, 8 2013 @ 07:53 PM
link   
reply to post by Quyll

i was happy to get off the flouride, helps you to think straighter!

i don't find it to be abrasive, and my teeth [gums?] are not sensitive to it.

it could be due to my brushing technique ...