Someone recently tried to use an application to sign in to your Google Account, page 1


Pages: <<  1    2    3  >>
ATS Members have flagged this thread 1 times


reply posted on 5-12-2012 @ 05:05 AM by solargeddon
reply to post by SyntheticPerception



This is more than likely a phishing e-mail....Those buggers just don't know when to stop!

Was there a link in the e-mail, for you to click on to take you to sign in ?

If so, then yep, definately a phishing e-mail....They are the hackers, as when you click the link it is a mock up of the sign in page, but really you're giving the bad guys your access codes.

Hope this helps


reply posted on 5-12-2012 @ 05:09 AM by SyntheticPerception
reply to post by GrandStrategy



The email was from accounts-noreply@google.com. It does not seem to be a phishing email, the link provided was from google and took me to my account to change my password and other account settings.


reply posted on 5-12-2012 @ 05:12 AM by solargeddon
reply to post by SyntheticPerception



Omg, you didn't !

You do know hackers can change the address line so that it looks like its from Google ?

More importantly there is a clue in the e-mail you recieved....

Who "Hijack's" an account, the word is hacked...Sorry, but I think you may have been compromised.


reply posted on 5-12-2012 @ 05:12 AM by SyntheticPerception
Originally posted by solargeddon
reply to
post by SyntheticPerception



This is more than likely a phishing e-mail....Those buggers just don't know when to stop!

Was there a link in the e-mail, for you to click on to take you to sign in ?

If so, then yep, definately a phishing e-mail....They are the hackers, as when you click the link it is a mock up of the sign in page, but really you're giving the bad guys your access codes.

Hope this helps


It actually makes me more paranoid. It looked legit from google, took me to my account page etc.

Left this part out of the OP

If this was you, and you want to give this application access to your account, complete the troubleshooting steps listed at ______________

Note: This email address cannot accept replies.

Sincerely,
The Google Accounts Team

© 2012 Google Inc. 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043
edit on 5-12-2012 by SyntheticPerception because: (no reason given)



reply posted on 5-12-2012 @ 05:15 AM by SyntheticPerception
reply to post by solargeddon





Who "Hijack's" an account, the word is hacked...Sorry, but I think you may have been compromised.


I was compromised long before this email.

This stinks.




reply posted on 5-12-2012 @ 05:18 AM by SyntheticPerception
reply to post by solargeddon



The email is really from Google though.. It wasn't just a link to some web page, it was a link to my Google account.
This still stinks.



reply posted on 5-12-2012 @ 05:19 AM by GrandStrategy
Originally posted by solargeddon
reply to
post by SyntheticPerception



Omg, you didn't !

You do know hackers can change the address line so that it looks like its from Google ?

More importantly there is a clue in the e-mail you recieved....

Who "Hijack's" an account, the word is hacked...Sorry, but I think you may have been compromised.


I was going to call fake off the bat for the very reason you picked up on. That sentence read wrong to me, too.


reply posted on 5-12-2012 @ 05:21 AM by solargeddon
reply to post by SyntheticPerception



I know I sound like the cyber equivalent of the grim reaper, but seriously, they can make it look legit, usually there is a mistake somewhere, but nowadays, they are good.

Did you use the link to sign in?

If you did, I would write off that e-mail address, and get another one, just to be safe, if nothing else.

The idea is to "fool" the individual into handing over their details, so of course they are going to make it look legit.

Using the word Hijack, instead of hack, plus the addition of the link makes me think you have been had.


reply posted on 5-12-2012 @ 05:22 AM by SyntheticPerception
reply to post by solargeddon





Was there a link in the e-mail, for you to click on to take you to sign in ?


I didn't have to sign in. After I changed the password Google sent me an email confirming it was me who made the change, and if I didn't change the password to contact them directly.


reply posted on 5-12-2012 @ 05:24 AM by SyntheticPerception
reply to post by solargeddon





Using the word Hijack


That actually hits a personal note somewhat to me and makes me laugh. Kinda.

Hi ~ Jack
edit on 5-12-2012 by SyntheticPerception because: (no reason given)




reply posted on 5-12-2012 @ 05:32 AM by SyntheticPerception
reply to post by solargeddon



Do you have a gmail address?

I would like to see what message you wold get if I try to log into your account. Like if I type in your email for the login, and then say the word "dog" a few times for the password (unless your password is dog), we could see if you get an email from Google using the same verbiage my email did.


Or I cold create a new account, give you the email and have your try and login to it and I'll check the email I recieve from Google.

edit on 5-12-2012 by SyntheticPerception because: (no reason given)



reply posted on 5-12-2012 @ 05:41 AM by SyntheticPerception
reply to post by solargeddon



Try and login to this email for me if you will, I want to see the message I get. Try a few times so it will register as someone "messing" with my account who shouldn't.

Just created it

areyouserious1122@gmail.com.

If I get the same message I will know if the OP email was really from google or not.
edit on 5-12-2012 by SyntheticPerception because: (no reason given)



reply posted on 5-12-2012 @ 05:47 AM by Zehll
reply to post by SyntheticPerception



Click the email adress it was sent from, to reveal the actual email adress.

It's gmail, nevermind
edit on 5-12-2012 by Zehll because: (no reason given)



reply posted on 5-12-2012 @ 05:52 AM by SyntheticPerception
reply to post by Zehll





It's gmail, nevermind


So it was legit then yes?

If so I am curious why someone from Vietnam was attempting to access my account. All of my "Top Secret" information is inside my mind, not my gmail account


reply posted on 5-12-2012 @ 05:58 AM by Zehll
reply to post by SyntheticPerception



support.google.com...
ask.metafilter.com...

Seems legit, mainly because in their support forum their accounts department is usually a variation on accounts-???-noreply@google.com
edit on 5-12-2012 by Zehll because: (no reason given)



reply posted on 5-12-2012 @ 06:01 AM by SpearMint
Originally posted by solargeddon
reply to
post by SyntheticPerception



Omg, you didn't !

You do know hackers can change the address line so that it looks like its from Google ?

More importantly there is a clue in the e-mail you recieved....

Who "Hijack's" an account, the word is hacked...Sorry, but I think you may have been compromised.


Hijack is the perfect word, logging in to someone's account doesn't necessarily involve any hacking.

If you changed your password on the google.com domain then don't worry.
Pages: <<  1    2    3  >>    ^^TOP^^



Lost film from 1906...this is awesome..
  Posted 2 days ago with 45 member flags
Mayonnaise Jar & Two Beers
  Posted 8 days ago with 30 member flags
Extremely rare photographs depicting massively historical moments!
  Posted 2 days ago with 28 member flags
The Only Man In The World Who Can Swim With A Polar Bear
  Posted 19 days ago with 25 member flags
You won\'t believe it until you see it...This Chimpanzee Can Cook!
  Posted 14 days ago with 23 member flags
Something I discovered at work in relation to sky noise.
  Posted 11 days ago with 21 member flags
Green mile actor MICHAEL CLARKE DUNCAN, dead at 54.... R.I.P
  Posted 8 days ago with 20 member flags