It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Parent Training Classes

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Aug, 28 2012 @ 03:27 PM
link   
I don't want to be a parent, as I don't want children. But if it ever happens, I have promised myself that I'd be as good as a parent as I possibly can. I don't have any children, and I'm not very good with them. I have poor social skills, so that's my main reason why I don't want to be a parent. There are many other reasons, of course, but that's one of my big ones.

With that being said, if I knew I was going to be a parent, I wouldn't go into it blindly. I would look into taking parenting classes so I could be the better parent that I never had in my life.

Assuming, of course, those classes actually do have something to offer.

You see, I am also ambivalent about taking them. Because I don't know what information they actually provide, there seems to be scant information on them, or at least I haven't found the information on what they have to offer.

So my main concerns about the parenting classes are two fold. One is they're nothing but political indoctrination classes disguised as parenting classes, or the big message they have to teach is that you must spoil your child to no end.

i don't believe in either. I don't want to be a strict parent, but I don't want to be a lackluster parent either. I want to teach my kids discipline and good work ethics and good social skills that I lack. I want to have a balance between discipline and lack of it, and I don't want to harshly discipline my kids and mess with them the way I was messed with by the adults.

And i'm not so sure that the parenting classes would actually teach how to strive for that balance