It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Database of what you can barter for after SHTF

page: 1
<<   2  3  4 >>

join
share:

posted on Jun, 29 2012 @ 02:57 PM
link   
We probably will not have internet or yellow pages so we should put together a directory of what we can make/fabricate or what skills we have that may be useful and desired when we can't just run to walmart or home depot anymore.

I'll start it out.

I am in North Louisiana

1) I have a wood fired oven and I am able to bake delicious breads and pizzas.
2) I also make a fine goat cheese.
3) I can provide alligator meat and skin as well as small game furs.
4) Also sun dried fish meat (can be reconstituted with water to use like tuna).
5) Also have access to large quantities of salt.
5) I am an expert in all sub-sea work (I can go down to 300ft of water or put you there and bring you back alive and uninjured)

Would barter for soaps of all kinds and medicinal herbs that do not grow in my area, also candles and wild game jerky.

posted on Jun, 29 2012 @ 02:59 PM
link   
Thanks for the list of what I can steal from you come survival time

Seriously though, not the best idea to advertise what you have in storage in a true survival situation.

posted on Jun, 29 2012 @ 03:02 PM
link   
Thank you for this comprehensive list.

I will personally make sure that your place is the first one on the looting list

Seriously, I think it may turn out to be a strategic disadvantage to provide lists of goods and services before knowing what type of apocalyptic scenario you will encounter.

While bartering may be a good idea when the zombi-apocalypse strikes, it may turn out to be impossible when millions of starving people roam the radiated landscapes after a much more likely global thermonuclear exchange.