It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Am I A YouTube Quisling?

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Jun, 26 2012 @ 09:25 PM
link   
I've been posting on ATS since 2007. I've posted on numerous subjects, most significantly though on 9/11 and government corruption issues. I realize that doesn't make me unique.

My stance in most of what I have posted is to be highly sceptical about government and about the influence of corporations on our lives. Recently, in one thread, I called modern fascism the transformation of corporations into a fungal growth.

Now an issue has come up.

I, as a personal hobby, paint and write music. I have a YouTube channel and have made a few amateurish videos of me performing my music on guitar. I just want to get the music out there and see what kind of responses it receives, how many views and most interestingly, where those views come from. YouTube has an "Analytics" page where things are broken down statistically for each uploaded video. It is very interesting. I've been amazed at how many different countries have viewed my videos.

When I say countries, I mean usually one person in that country.

My videos don't get viewed a lot. None of them has "broken" 500 views. I don't care. Its fun and that's enough for me.

Here's the issue. Recently YouTube began to send me a little notice that I could start to "monetize" my videos, by becoming a YouTube "partner". I only had to submit an "agreement" to abide by the conditions of partnership and I would start to receive a percentage of ad money generated by "clicks" on ads that would be posted on my channel with my videos.

I am very conflicted about doing this. I don't trust corporations, lawyers or "agreements" between ants and elephants.