It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

White Flashes of Light in the Sky?

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Jun, 9 2012 @ 09:37 AM
link   
So last night at around 12:30 am, i was out doing a bit of astrophotography, which by the way i am fairly new to and and enjoying every moment of. I've always loved just lying under the stars staring into space and finally being able to capture a small portion of our place in this universe on camera is somethig i've dreamed of for a long time.

Anyway, i was facing West when i caught a very bright flash in the corner of my eye to the left. I had seen something similar last year but never gave it much thought as i have seen a few mysterious light shows in the night sky.

So i waited for my camera to finish its current exposure and turned the tripod and pointed towards the South. As i was doing this it happened again. It lasted 2 or 3 seconds and the only thing i can think to compare it too is like a giant camera flash up in space. I cannot stress enough how BRIGHT it was. It just radiated white light.

So i quicky point the camera in that direction, and set it for two 30 second exposures. Luckily enough, i did capture another of these flashes on one of the exposures. There were no more after that.

So my question is. What are these flashes? I've looked around on the internet and found people saying its lightning but there were no clouds last night. Iridium flares are another explanation i've read about but after looking at a simulated animation of one, it does in no way match what i seen.

Anybody care to enlighten me as to what these flashes are? Have you seen them?

Also, if anybody wants me to post the photo they will have to explain to my how because i've tried but at 4.51 MB i think its too big to upload. The photo does not really help anyway.