Tropical storm becomes hurricane at 41 North - Unprecedented.

page: 1
0

log in

join

posted on Oct, 2 2004 @ 12:32 PM
link   
The series of unprecedented events continues - from Alex to Lisa, with the contribution of Charley, Frances, Ivan and Jeanne ...

HURRICANE LISA ADVISORY NUMBER 53
NWS TPC/NATIONAL HURRICANE CENTER MIAMI FL
11 AM AST SAT OCT 02 2004

AT 11 AM AST...1500Z...THE CENTER OF HURRICANE LISA WAS LOCATED NEAR LATITUDE 42.0 NORTH...LONGITUDE 36.8 WEST OR ABOUT 585 MILES... 945 KM...WEST-NORTHWEST OF THE AZORES.

MAXIMUM SUSTAINED WINDS ARE NEAR 75 MPH...120 KM/HR...WITH HIGHER GUSTS. LISA SHOULD BECOME EXTRATROPICAL TONIGHT OR SUNDAY.


[edit on 2-10-2004 by John bull 1]




posted on Oct, 2 2004 @ 12:52 PM
link   
Truly bizarre. From what I have seen, they don't expect it to stay a huricanne for long. In fact this has wavered from tropical storm to huricanne several times in the last few days.

www.in tellicast.com



posted on Oct, 2 2004 @ 01:08 PM
link   
BTW, the previous latitude record (38 North) for a tropical storm to turn into a hurricane was just 1 day old ...

HURRICANE LISA ADVISORY NUMBER 50
NWS TPC/NATIONAL HURRICANE CENTER MIAMI FL
5 PM AST FRI OCT 01 2004

...AND YET ANOTHER HURRICANE IN THE ATLANTIC...NO THREAT TO LAND...

SATELLITE IMAGES INDICATE THAT LISA HAS REACHED HURRICANE
STRENGTH...BECOMING THE EIGHTH HURRICANE OF THE 2004 ATLANTIC
SEASON. AT 5 PM AST...2100Z...THE CENTER OF HURRICANE LISA WAS
LOCATED NEAR LATITUDE 38.4 NORTH...LONGITUDE 45.1 WEST OR ABOUT
980 MILES... 1580 KM... WEST OF THE AZORES.



posted on Oct, 2 2004 @ 01:10 PM
link   
This hurricane season certainly seems out of the ordinary.

I remember a hurricane forming in the SOUTH Atlantic earlier this year and hitting Brazil. Also unprecedented I believe.

typo edit

[edit on 10/2/2004 by Gools]





new topics

top topics
 
0

log in

join