Faraday Cage

page: 1
<<   2  3  4 >>

join

posted on May, 29 2012 @ 12:21 AM
link   
So, my next home project I will be working on is a faraday cage. My first thought was to use an old PA speaker box, take it apart and pull the speakers out and line the inside with aluminum. But after taking apart the box I realized that the speakers, which I was told do not work, might make a pretty nice box with a small soldiering job. Still considering the speaker box, but now I am back to square one, trying to think of something, laying around the house that doesn't get much use, that I could easily take with me on the road on that fine day.

Mainly I hope to spare a few laptops and pda, type peripherals. But it will also become the new permanent home for smaller, more important survival items like, flashlights, inverters etc.

So It thought I would consult ATS. What are your ideas?

posted on May, 29 2012 @ 12:28 AM
link   
I am no electronics pro by any means, but I have heard that microwave ovens make a great faraday cage for the purposes your talking about.
Broken Microwave ovens can be had for a song, as well. Looking forward to other posts on this, as it very possibly can be a lifesaver for sensitive items.
Peace

ETA I would love to find an inexpensive way to protect myself and my pet if I knew something like a Carrington event or some sort of EMP weapon was incoming...
edit on 29-5-2012 by Elostone because: (no reason given)

posted on May, 29 2012 @ 12:30 AM
link   
reply to post by Elostone

Yes Ive heard that, but they also when turned on keep radiation in. Another suggestion was an aluminum trash can. But somehow I don't think I can justify keeping the computers in a trash can to the other half lol.

ETA: we do have a mini fridge that isn't working, but I was thinking something more portable.
edit on 29-5-2012 by thehoneycomb because: (no reason given)

posted on May, 29 2012 @ 12:32 AM
link   
reply to post by thehoneycomb