It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

The Amazing Açaí berry.

page: 1

join
share:

posted on May, 17 2012 @ 10:14 AM
link   
You may have heard of it, You may have not but i thought i would make a thread professing my love for these Amazing berry's and the various brilliant health sustaining attributes they have.

I have been using these berry's in powder form for around 2 years now and I've never regretting picking the stuff off the shelf

The fruit, a small, round, black-purple drupe about 1 inch (25 mm) in circumference, similar in appearance but smaller than a grape and with less pulp, is produced in branched panicles of 500 to 900 fruits. The exocarp of the ripe fruits is a deep purple color, or green, depending on the kind of açaí and its maturity. The mesocarp is pulpy and thin, with a consistent thickness of 1 mm or less. It surrounds the voluminous and hard endocarp, which contains a single large seed about 0.25–0.40 inches (7–10 mm) in diameter. The seed makes up about 80% of the fruit (Schauss, 2006c). Two crops of fruit are produced each year. The fruits can be harvested and consumed.
en.wikipedia.org...

The powder itself is reasonably cheap as health food however drinking it dissolved in water is foul, I tend to mix the stuff with lemonade or juice to make it more palatable, Alternatively for a slight price rise you can get the stuff in capsules

I've gotta tell you guys this stuff makes me feel great, I don't know all the benefits the Acai berry has to offer and i very much doubt anyone does however it's been known to prevent cancer and various other health problems (as detailed below) from occurring, The only problem is it makes me feel too good so I've got the balance out that feeling by frequently visiting ye Old Pub.

Details on known health benefits: