It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

UK JSA Advice needed

page: 1

join
share:

posted on May, 11 2012 @ 09:02 AM
link   
I’m hoping someone from the uk might be able to offer some advice concerning selling software whilst unemployed.

I’ve been programming for many years now purely as a hobby. Over the years I have developed a couple of applications for my own use. A few friends also use these applications and say they would feel lost without them. If there’s one thing the internet has taught me, it’s that if one person wants it then there’s likely many thousands of others who also want it. With that in mind and the fact that I cant find a decent job I’d like to try selling these programs.

My problem.
I’m unemployed therefore I’m claiming JSA (Job seekers allowance) and as far as I’m aware if I were to start selling software I would be classed as self employed. Certainly from the tax mans point of view I would.
I’m told that self employed people cant claim JSA but as I have no other income I need it.
I cant simply sign off JSA because its possible I wont get any sales, or it might take a while for sales to reach a level where I can support myself.

I’ve asked on three separate occasions at the jobcentre what would happen if I were to set up a website for the purpose of selling software and each time I’ve been given a different answer.
1. Yes you would be self employed and would have to sign off.
2. I can do it and any earnings would be deducted from my JSA allowance.
3. They’re not sure, try it and see what happens.

While the staff in my local jobcentre have always been very helpful I don’t trust their masters any further than I could spit, we hear of people losing JSA for the silliest of reasons. Obviously I cannot be without an income.