It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

New ATS Owner Wants Input

page: 1
<<   2  3 >>

join
share:

posted on Apr, 1 2012 @ 08:35 AM
link   
I won the lottery and decided to purchase ATS. [Note: The USA is NOT the only country in the world with a lottery.] This has been my online community for about 10 years - it's the place I feel most at home and the only one I care about. So when I got the chance to take over, I took it.

Be forewarned - I plan to be a benevolent dictator - but change is in the wind.

For myself, I tend to be a bit of a philosopher with a taste for hard information. I'm also an artist - but my professional background is in business. I cut my corporate teeth with Bill Galt's Good Earth Restaurant franchise, and studied at the Burklyn School of Business with Buckminster Fuller. No, I don't get the math but I do understand respect and synergy - which is what I see as ATS' true foundation: respect and synergy.

The quality of discussion on ATS has always ebbed and flowed. Some say it's a pulse on the larger world; others bemoan the loss of excellence, and say the site sacrificed quality for quantity. There's no doubt that when the membership skyrocketed, the quality of topics and discourse plummeted.

I suspect that if we leave things alone, the pendulum will swing back, ATS' vaunted quality will re-emerge, and all will be right in our virtual world. But I'm sorely tempted to tinker.

What do you think? Can ATS remain popular, successful and financially viable - while demanding our historically higher quality of exchange?

Can we demand passion without idiocy? Can we command informed contributions and participation? Can we lose the marketing trolls and Facebook spillovers - without losing market share?

How do we do that?

…….Go at it ATS, I'll be back later.

With respect,
sofi