UK Citizens Being Sold Down the River - Quantitative Easing Plus Inflation and More

page: 1

join

posted on Mar, 29 2012 @ 04:14 PM
link   
Now let me please start by stating that I am by no means a financial expert and I am merely just saying it how I see it so if you spot any inaccuracies then please feel free to point them out.

Now Quantitative Easing, what is it and why do the government say we need it?

Well quantittative easing is effectively where the centeral bank prints money and places it into circulation as a "preventative" measure against economic downturns.

This is what George Osbourne had to say about it in October 2011

The Chancellor insisted instead it was an ‘appropriate tool’ given the gathering economic gloom.

So what does this mean for average Joe?

Well in the UK before Quantitive Easing started taking place in March 2009 the UK had an estimated £1.7 Trillion in currency value this is now (Oct 2011) standing at £1.9 Trillion thanks to Quantitive Easing, thats got to be good for us right? WRONG. The trouble is that the £1.9 Trillion we have now is worth around the same in real terms to the £1.7 Trillion we had in 2009. The reality of what is going on here is that the Government has effectivly raided everybodys savings account and every future £ they earn of around 10.5% of value in the form of re-printed money. The Government then takes this re-printed money and purchases its own Guilts which brings the money back into the market by funding the public sector and other projects.

Isn't this theft I hear you say? well yes it is in every sense apart from it is legal.

Where else have we felt the pinch of the Government?