It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Where are my rights?

page: 1
<<   2  3 >>

join
share:

posted on Mar, 29 2012 @ 02:59 PM
link   
Yep it happened to me yet again, which is why it's in the RANT! forum. I'm so pissed, but I have an actual question.

I was at a public school picking up a child recently, when a highly disrespectful teacher decided to stop me, and mouth off to me in the way that I assume he speaks to students. I was smoking a cigarette inside my car, as I have been doing for the last 3 years when I go to pick a student up. The police officer see's me do this everytime I pick anyone up, he has never stopped me or been anything other than friendly. The teacher informed me that smoking on school grounds was against the law, so I asked if he was sure about that. He was rude to me long before I said that, in fact I was fuming by now.

I ask this question because, I know that the inside of a person's car counts as private property in all other matters in a court of law, that I know of. Bottom line, does he or the school have any authority to prohibit smoking inside my car?

posted on Mar, 29 2012 @ 03:04 PM
link   
No of course he doesn't have any authority.

Either the police will arrest or ticket you or, he can shut the hell up.

To put it plainly.

Can't stand people like that. Fascism is rampant in our school system.
Always has been...

posted on Mar, 29 2012 @ 03:08 PM
link   
perhaps as its on private property and theres rules at the gate saying no smoking/dancing the macarana/farting the 1812 overture allowed on the premises etc and that entering the schools premises you agree to uphold those rules which would make it a grey area but against the law i doubt it unless the person has the power to ban you from the premises then you may break rules on trespass