Surreal Inkwork. Opinions on color needed.

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join

posted on Mar, 18 2012 @ 04:02 AM
link   
Hi guys,

I'm a Melbourne based artist who deals with micro pens and very small pieces of paper.
I've had a few exhibitions and starting to get known for my style, but I'm now currently thinking about moving into color with my pieces.

My question is, what are your thoughts on introducing color into my work?

Some scanned art examples are below. All are very small (A7-A3 size).

Thanks in advance!

posted on Mar, 18 2012 @ 04:09 AM
link   
Honestly, those particular pieces are way too busy for full color in my opinion. Perhaps a splash here or there for effect, but there is so much detail that coloring would detract from that. Do you have any other works less ornate?

P.S.Cool art.

posted on Mar, 18 2012 @ 04:10 AM
link   
Beautiful!

I am a big fan of deep blues myself.

posted on Mar, 18 2012 @ 04:14 AM
link   

Honestly, those particular pieces are way too busy for full color in my opinion. Perhaps a splash here or there for effect, but there is so much detail that coloring would detract from that. Do you have any other works less ornate? P.S.Cool art.

Thanks! Yeah I'm kinda thinking the same. No less ornate. All my stuff is basically that busy.

Beautiful! I am a big fan of deep blues myself.

Thank you too! I think maybe deep blue only in the top half of the sky would be good if I made it prominent.

posted on Mar, 18 2012 @ 04:20 AM
link   
reply to post by Noinoi

That's cool. The theme reminds me of a dollar bill on '___'.

Keep up the good work.

posted on Mar, 18 2012 @ 04:26 AM
link   
reply to post by DaTroof

Haha, thanks!

There's a bit of mind altering influence involved in what I do.
I'm not advocating anything illegal here. Meditation can even send you off into a visual journey.

There is a bit of a connection, especially with Masonry.
edit on 18-3-2012 by Noinoi because: 1 line response isn't a good thing.