It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

ISS Films Super Massive Cloud!!!

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Mar, 6 2012 @ 03:24 PM
link   
This cloud is HUGE! I dont know what type of cloud it is but I had a look on google and I could only think of a rolling cloud, but a really really big one.

This is footage from the ISS, looking down at earth, Here is the video.
The cloud comes in at around 3min but i recommend you watch it to get a real perspective of the sizeof this cloud

edit on 6-3-2012 by n00bUK because: (no reason given)

edit on 6-3-2012 by n00bUK because: (no reason given)

posted on Mar, 6 2012 @ 03:25 PM
link   
Bad URL for video...
2nd

Better now! Very interesting cloud....it does look a bit like those rolling clouds I saw posted on here, but I am no cloud expert at all.
edit on 3/6/12 by Vasa Croe because: (no reason given)

posted on Mar, 6 2012 @ 03:35 PM
link   
ya, i think its been over my house for 12 hours and i s now dropping frreezing rai and ice pellets on me!

posted on Mar, 6 2012 @ 03:37 PM
link   
reply to post by n00bUK

It is just a layer of strato cumulus, from the looks of it.

I've seen such extensive cloud cover very often, from airplanes. Of course, the field of view is far more extensive, due to the height of the ISS on orbit. But, even fro the airplane you can see quite far to the horizon, and it is easy to tell when there is extensive cloud cover for over a hundred miles, uninterrupted.

The nearly straight, and well-defined edge is indicative of a "shelf" cloud configuration, and this is generally the result of a very well developed frontal boundary between the two air masses.