It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

The Rainbow of Creation

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Feb, 3 2012 @ 08:57 PM
link   
I am a writer of poetry and often as I read I lean toward finding the deeper meanings of what I think the author might be trying to convey. Sometimes I'm right. More though, I'm not. That's life. This is certainly one of those times, but it's still interesting.

Sometime ago I was simultaneously contemplating a few stories, as I often do, and an idea hit me. The rainbow that God put in the sky as a sign for Noah is a symbol in colour for the creation story. More accurately, if we can get the horse back in front of the cart, the story of creation mirrors the colours of the rainbow. Weird I know. I told you I read into stuff.

The colours of the rainbow, as we all know, go like this: red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, violet. To make this work all we have to do is reverse the order and think about it from the inside out. We'll start with violet and end with red.

Now the creation story, again as we all know, is from the Pentateuch; book one chapter one. If you'll allow me to distill it a little as we go;

In verse 1 the story starts with God making the heaven and the earth. But it's not what we, the modern English speaking world, have envisioned. In the Hebrew the words 'heaven' (hashamayim) and 'earth' is (ha'aretz) are really describing here that God made on the first day, the divide between the physical realm and the eternal. He made the room for everything he was about to make. Then he filled it with all the necessary pieces of the puzzle.