It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Thoughts from a High School Teacher - Running Education Like a Business

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Jan, 18 2012 @ 11:00 AM
link   
I am a current high school teacher and have been for several years. The classes I have taught are: Business Computer Information Systems, Accounting, Sports and Entertainment Marketing, Fashion Marketing, Entrepreneurship, and Virtual Business. I have certifications in Social Studies Composite 6-12, Business Education 6-12, Information Technology 8-12, and Marketing Education 8-12. I also have my undergraduate in Business and will complete my MBA this semester. My father is a small business owner and I have several years of experience in the private sector with plans to eventually start my own business. I tell you this in order to give you a background into my business oriented frame of mind.

As someone who teaches honors, dual-credit, and on-level or regular classes, I see a wide variety of students. For instance I have 2 students who are national merit scholars and have been accepted to Harvard and Brown, I also have 3 or 4 students who show up about twice a week, don't turn anything in, and their parents refuse to return my phone calls. I see it all.
My concern is that the education system is a direct reflection of society. It's become a very much entitlement educational system. The diagnosis of learning disabilities is a joke, parents are much more of a hassle than a help, and the increasing federal regulations are continuing to make our educational system worse. The only thing America is #1 in is spending. No Child Left Behind is a complete failure, Unions make it almost impossible to fire bad teachers, and Athletics are a priority in most school districts.