It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

 

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

 

Liberal Media is way more Powerful than Fox News:

page: 2
3
<< 1    3 >>

log in

join
share:

posted on Jan, 1 2012 @ 02:39 PM
link   
Except that those liberal media companies are really not that liberal at all. They are run by right of center or centrist liberals.




posted on Jan, 1 2012 @ 02:40 PM
link   

Originally posted by jjf3rd77
But I see you didn't read my post anyway


I pretty much ignore anything referencing "Liberal".

What is Liberal? Basically Liberal is the "catch all bucket" for anything and every thing Right Wingers don't agree with.

Liberals are those who "color outside the lines" - - - whether one agrees with them or not.

I'll take the diversity bucket over the cloned brainwashed - - any day.



posted on Jan, 1 2012 @ 02:42 PM
link   
reply to post by seabag
 


I think FOX shouldn't support any candidates period and for the most part they do. They just report it how it is, I don't think the have much control over who the pundits believe will be best for their country. As long as they don't support a liberal, then it's all ok in their book. Which is why I think FOX is bashing Ron Paul, his foreign policy is more liberal than Obama's



posted on Jan, 1 2012 @ 02:42 PM
link   

Originally posted by Algernonsmouse

Originally posted by seabag
reply to post by jjf3rd77
 


They dislike FOX because of its success…


Is that why Republicans dislike Obama or is that just a really lame argument anywhere?


What success has Obama had??
He's bankrupted the damn country!!!

You're delusional!!


FOX has the highest ratings in news...I just posted it above. Are you going to dispute the facts? Really?



posted on Jan, 1 2012 @ 02:46 PM
link   
reply to post by Annee
 


In my book I can never understand far-left liberals, I can't get onto some of their planes of existence. Conservatives are usually more down to earth despite the religious nut jobs. I have more hope for that side of the political realm.



posted on Jan, 1 2012 @ 02:46 PM
link   

Originally posted by jjf3rd77
reply to post by seabag
 


I think FOX shouldn't support any candidates period and for the most part they do. They just report it how it is, I don't think the have much control over who the pundits believe will be best for their country. As long as they don't support a liberal, then it's all ok in their book. Which is why I think FOX is bashing Ron Paul, his foreign policy is more liberal than Obama's


I’m not a Ron Paul supporter but he isn’t more liberal than Obama. It may appear that way but you just have to understand his reasoning. Libertarians are anti-war.

Libertarianism and war are not compatible. One reason why should be obvious: In war, governments commit legalized mass-murder. In modern warfare especially, war is not just waged among voluntary combatants, but kills, maims, and otherwise harms innocent people. Then, of course, wars must be funded through taxes, which are extracted from U.S. citizens by force — a form of legalized theft, as far as libertarians are concerned. And, historically, the U.S. has used conscription — legalized slavery —to force people to fight and die. In addition, an interventionist foreign policy makes civilians targets for retaliation, so governments indirectly cause more violence against their own people when they become involved in other countries’ affairs. Plus, war is always accompanied by many other new restrictions on liberty, many of which are sold as supposedly temporary wartime measures but then never go away.
link



posted on Jan, 1 2012 @ 02:46 PM
link   

Originally posted by seabag
FOX has the highest ratings in news...I just posted it above. Are you going to dispute the facts? Really?


Yep - - no surprise - - the Clones all gather to the Carnival Barkers.

The independent "bucket brigade" choose diversity.
edit on 1-1-2012 by Annee because: (no reason given)



posted on Jan, 1 2012 @ 02:48 PM
link   
reply to post by seabag
 


Yes, clearly the 8 years with our previous president did not assist in bankrupting our country, definitely. In fact, Obama did such a bang up job of bankrupting us that he did it before he even stepped into office!



posted on Jan, 1 2012 @ 02:49 PM
link   
reply to post by seabag
 


Eh. Obama's a war-monger he just hides behind technology and, "no boots on the ground." Liberals tend to be anti-war too. Just Obama and Ron Paul hate Israel and Love Iran. That's a very liberal viewpoint to make especially if you are on the republican ticket.



posted on Jan, 1 2012 @ 02:50 PM
link   

Originally posted by jjf3rd77
Conservatives are usually more down to earth despite the religious nut jobs. I have more hope for that side of the political realm.


I'm actually a fiscal conservative.

But don't agree with the "down to earth" analogy. I think its more of a set established pattern of rules and belief.

Some times ya gotta "kick the dirt up".



posted on Jan, 1 2012 @ 02:52 PM
link   
reply to post by cetaphobic
 


Obama spent more money in his first year than Bush did in 8! and he completely left Iraq vulnerable the man has no place being commander in chief. At least Bush understands and was in the Military. Although his record was pretty sloppy.



posted on Jan, 1 2012 @ 02:53 PM
link   
The "liberal media". Just another right-wing bogeyman. For the record Republicans have not been conservatives in the last 30 years. They are Neo-cons. Miles apart. Maybe Misoir can elaborate on that.

"Conservative" news outlets:
  • Accuracy in Media
  • Avinu News Avinu News.com
  • Breitbart/Biggovernment
  • Carolina Journal carolinajournal.com (part of the John Locke Foundation)
  • Citizens United
  • The Conservative Voice conservativevoice.com
  • Conservatives Forum conservativesforum.com
  • Constitution Society constitution.org
  • Cybercast News Service
  • Daily Caller daillycaller.com
  • Drudge Report
  • Ether Zone etherzone.com
  • The Federal Observer federalobserver.com
  • The Third Report ThirdReport.com
  • Federal Review federalreview.com
  • Fox News: Bill O'Reilly (O'Reilly Factor); Shepard Smith; Greta Van Susteren; Brit Hume; Rita Crosby, Sean Hannity, Glenn Beck, Bret Baier
  • The Franklin Center for Government and Public Integrity franklincenterhq.org
  • Free Republic
  • FrontPageMag.com
  • GOPUSA
  • Hannity & Colmes (Fox News)
  • Human Events Online humaneventsonline.com
  • The John Locke Foundation johnlocke.org
  • LewRockwell.com lewrockwell.com
  • Media Research Center: "Tracking Liberal Media Bias Since 1996."
  • MensNewsDaily.com
  • Move America Forward
  • Mullings mullings.com
  • National Review Online
  • NewsMax NewsMax.com
  • Pajamas Media PJTV pajamasmedia.com
  • The Patriotist patriotist.com
  • The Third Report ThirdReport.com
  • Red County redcounty.com
  • Restoring America restoringamerica.org
  • RightMarch.com / rightmarch.com
  • Right Wing News rightwingnews.com
  • Rush Limbaugh
  • Sierra Times sierratimes.com
  • Talon News (see article)
  • Town Hall
  • Watch Dog watchdog.org
  • Wall Street Journal Opinion opinionjournal.com
  • Washington Examiner washingtonexaminer.com (also own Weekly Standard)
  • Washington Times
  • Weekly Standard
  • WorldNetDaily


This list doesn't even begin to touch the AM radio dial which is almost entirely right-wing dominated. (in fact I don't think there is a single liberal talk show on the AM dial...?)

Liberal outlets:
  • BuzzFlash buzzflash.com
  • Common Dreams commondreams.org
  • CounterPunch counterpunch.org
  • Cursor cursor.org
  • Daily Kos dailykos.com
  • Democratic Underground democraticunderground.com
  • dKosopedia dkosopedia.com : "written from a left/progressive/liberal/Democratic point of view"
  • Eschaton (Atrios) atrios.blogspot.com
  • FAIR
  • In These Times inthesetimes.com
  • Independent Media Center (Indymedia) indymedia.org
  • Media Matters for America
  • Media Transparency
  • Michael Moore michaelmoore.com
  • Mother Jones motherjones.com
  • MSNBC: Chris Mathews, Al Sharpton, Rachel Maddown, Ed Schulz, Lawrence O'Donnell
  • Orcinus dneiwert.blogspot.com
  • OpEdNews.com / OpEdNews.com comes up first on google for progressive news and progressive or liberal op-ed, second on google for liberal news (after Rawstory.com)
  • Pacific News Service [2]
  • Pangagon pandagon.net
  • PR Watch
  • Salon salon.com
  • Smirking Chimp smirkingchimp.com
  • Talking Points Memo talkingpointsmemo.com
  • The American Prospect (TAP) prospect.org
  • The Hamster the-hamster.com
  • The Progressive progressive.org
  • The Nation
  • The New Republic tnr.com
  • The Raw Story rawstory.com
  • This Modern World thismodernworld.com
  • Tom Paine (Common Sense) tompaine.com
  • Utne utne.com


FAIR makes a good list of the problems with the media as well as identifying the think tanks that are creating the agenda behind much of what you think it news, which in reality, is just propaganda.

What's Wrong With the News?
  • Corporate Ownership
  • Advertiser Influence
  • Official Agendas
  • Telecommunications Policy
  • The PR Industry
  • Pressure Groups
  • The Narrow Range of Debate
  • Censorship
  • Sensationalism


In addition Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting (FAIR) has identified the top 25 think tanks by media citations, noting that from 2006 to 2007 the number of citations declined 17%.[39] The FAIR report reveals the ideological breakdown of the citations: 37% conservative, 47% centrist, and 16% liberal. Their data show that the most-cited think tank was the Brookings Institution, followed by the Council on Foreign Relations, the American Enterprise Institute, the Heritage Foundation, and the Center for Strategic and International Studies. (from United States Think Tanks)

List of think tanks in the United States

37% Conservative
47% Centrist
16% Liberal



posted on Jan, 1 2012 @ 02:58 PM
link   

Originally posted by cetaphobic
reply to post by seabag
 


Yes, clearly the 8 years with our previous president did not assist in bankrupting our country, definitely. In fact, Obama did such a bang up job of bankrupting us that he did it before he even stepped into office!


You guys are bashing conservatives but you don’t know what it is!! BUSH wasn’t a conservative. BUSH was a neo-con and a big government Republican establishment guy…not conservative.

I hate many of the things BUSH did, but that doesn’t change the fact that Obama has spent more money in 3 years than BUSH did in 8!



posted on Jan, 1 2012 @ 03:00 PM
link   
reply to post by Blackmarketeer
 


Thanx for the list

I would say, those are the far left and the far right. Fox Business isn't listed on there. So breaking down the centrists ones I would still say that liberals have the most power as all the major news networks blindly supported Obama in 2008. And now people are saying they don't support conservatives that doesn't mean they are liberal



posted on Jan, 1 2012 @ 03:01 PM
link   

Originally posted by Blackmarketeer
The "liberal media". Just another right-wing bogeyman. For the record Republicans have not been conservatives in the last 30 years. They are Neo-cons. Miles apart. Maybe Misoir can elaborate on that.


This is true. Very annoying to have your party hi-jacked.

I'm a 40+ year Goldwater Republican (or I was) - - haven't had the heart yet to "sign off" and re-register as something else.

Arizona has non-affiliated. I'll probably do that.



posted on Jan, 1 2012 @ 03:01 PM
link   
reply to post by seabag
 



Exactly and thanx I put Obama spent more money in one year sorry.



posted on Jan, 1 2012 @ 03:04 PM
link   

Originally posted by jjf3rd77
reply to post by seabag
 



Exactly and thanx I put Obama spent more money in one year sorry.


I still find it interesting that the cost of the war was not listed in Bush's official expenses.

But the cost of recovering from the war is part of Obama's expenses.

Kind of strange accounting. IMO



posted on Jan, 1 2012 @ 03:25 PM
link   
reply to post by jjf3rd77
 


Conservatives have nothing.

Fox news is neocon.

Neocon is not conservative. It's taking the name conservative, and lying about it.



posted on Jan, 1 2012 @ 04:20 PM
link   
I'm sorry but instead of arguing and listing which side has more powerfull biased media outlets you all should be furious that your media is biased at all!
The media is supposed to be neutral for # sake!
edit on 1-1-2012 by ColCurious because: (no reason given)



posted on Jan, 1 2012 @ 04:23 PM
link   
And then why do conservatives turn around and attack libertarians and ron Paul? If the established republicans supported ron Paul like rush Limbaugh and hannity they would crush the democrats but they don't. They are too happy being just like the dems so long as they stay in power.



new topics

top topics



 
3
<< 1    3 >>

log in

join