It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Did NASA just ADMIT to extraterrestrial life?

page: 8
<< 5  6  7   >>

join
share:

posted on Aug, 14 2012 @ 03:24 PM
link   
reply to post by Ross 54

Did you ever get any sort of reply from discovery magazine?

It seems like yesterday we were discussing this topic! And now curiousity has set foot on mars. Lets see if anything good comes from this expedition.

posted on Aug, 14 2012 @ 03:34 PM
link   
What are the chances that we have already infested/seeded mars with bacteria from earth? As careful as the technicians probably were, it seems likely to me that the rovers could have brought bacteria that could have survived the long journey and found a way to survive on the red planet.

If I was a technician and had the proper access I might have been tempted to tuck away some mold spores, bacteria or something like this in some out of sight corner of the Rover.

A dimes worth of water bears might be eking out a living there now for all we know.

posted on Aug, 14 2012 @ 04:07 PM
link   

Originally posted by Sparky63
What are the chances that we have already infested/seeded mars with bacteria from earth?

Good point, it's very possible, despite much caution taken to avoid it. NASA actually unknowingly brought home bacteria that had survived 30 years on Apollo 12 equipment on the moon.
science.nasa.gov...

However, I believe that DNA would reveal if martian bacteria were identical to earthly bacteria, or not. I find it unlikely that native martian life would have identical DNA to species on Earth, they would have developed under very different conditions, even in the event that they shared a common ancestor.

posted on Aug, 14 2012 @ 04:13 PM
link   
reply to post by Sparky63