It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

New member, old question.

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Oct, 6 2011 @ 11:49 PM
link   
Hi there, I'm new to ATS and wanted to start with a question. What are we looking for? I
started reading ATS because I wanted answers to one of the usual questions: 'Are we alone?'

For some time now I've been looking here and elsewhere for that answer. At first I searched
for the answer itself. Later it became proof that there might be an answer. Now I find
myself wondering if I'm asking the right questions. There are videos with lights, videos
with things that look like alien space ships, and videos with things that look like alien
space ships created in a fantasy studio. Even though I know these things are suspect I
found myself looking for ways to make it work. Yes, that's a single point of light, low on
the horizon, maybe between a few trees. But, I can't disprove it so I'll let that one
slide. There's another light performing an acrobatic dance against a polka dotted sky;
can't rule that one out either. Eventually we see so many lights they can't all be fake!
You'll stumble across a few references and some beautiful statistics and say 'let’s see
where this idea goes'.

Some time thereafter you'll find yourself wondering: if we're not
alone, why is it that we're not talking?. Next we realize that we must actually be
talking to our cosmic neighbors - the statistics and circumstantial evidence must be
correct! – and that someone or something is not allowing 'us' to hear the conversation. So
we ask ourselves: who put a kink in the cosmic string between our tin can and theirs? There
are a few logical leaps here but eventually we decide it must be the government. They have
all the money, all the resources, all the technology. But, didn't we elect those officials?