It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Atlantis misconceptions?

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Aug, 23 2004 @ 03:31 PM
link   
I'm new to atlantis. But I hear a lot of dissenting opinion. One group says atlantis was highly technologically advanced beyond what there is today. Another group says they were fairly above the most advanced civilization at the time(which is not so advanced).

It was even said that some philosopher(plato? Aristotle?) found atlantis and claimed it to be a place of fascinating devices. Unfortunately, we still havent even found any strong proof suggesting they had any advanced piece of equipment. So whats really so special about atlantis if many would agree it wasnt a place of majesty and splendor?????

posted on Aug, 23 2004 @ 03:52 PM
link   
I'd highly recommend reading some of the threads on this...

Just to clear up...we have ONE historical source for Atlantis...

It is a literary work called, "The Dialogue of Critius" by the philosopher Plato. In turn, he learned of the city from Solon, an Egyptian priest. According to Plato and Solon, Atlantis existed 9000 years prior to Plato's time (who lived in Ancient Greece). He was describing a place that was described to him, not a place he had been.

Advanced technology is not mentioned in the dialogue, and is the stuff of artistic license taken by sci-fi authors.

Please check my links in the Case for Atlantis being in South America thread, as one of those links is to the original dialogue by Plato. Read it closely, as he describes both ancient Greece, AND Atlantis... Don't confuse the two... He makes it clear when he switches gears...