It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

How to make your own wax slugs...

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Aug, 3 2011 @ 04:09 PM
link   
I've been shooting and reloading shotgun shells for many years but have never seen this technique. I've heard of it in passing but never gave it much thought until now. It's seems practical and quite simple when you consider how many boxes of shells stuffed with #8 I have lying around.

This gentleman has a nice series of videos related to the topic.

posted on Aug, 3 2011 @ 04:23 PM
link   
S&F for a very interesting video
Thank you for sharing it, i definitively gonna try it

posted on Aug, 3 2011 @ 06:31 PM
link   
Could you explain the point? I don't understand.

Why not just use slugs?

I guess I am missing the whole point.

The only use I can think of for this is after TSHTF and you ran out of slugs but had a lot of shot shells left you could make these.

posted on Aug, 3 2011 @ 07:16 PM
link   
Would be interesting to see what the pros and cons are to using wax slugs vs regular slugs.

I do find it neat that you can do that but, you can make anything a projectile with enough gunpowder behind it.

posted on Aug, 3 2011 @ 09:04 PM
link   

Originally posted by mwood
Could you explain the point? I don't understand.

Why not just use slugs?

I guess I am missing the whole point.

The only use I can think of for this is after TSHTF and you ran out of slugs but had a lot of shot shells left you could make these.

Exactly the point. These slugs could be used to take down large game in a SHTF situation and the man who made this video has accurately fired the slugs at a100 yard thin steel target and penetrated the light gauge steel.