It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

So my sister wants to get closer to God, wants a book. Suggestions?

page: 1
<<   2  3  4 >>

join
share:

posted on Jul, 28 2011 @ 08:18 PM
link   
As some of you guys here on ats my know about me and the countless personal experiences i have posted about when it comes to finding God or the Absolute truth.

Well now my dillema is that my younger sister, 26, wants me to giveher a basic book that describes sort of a how to guide to get closer to God. And i cant think of one.

Here i am studying nonduality, gnostics, plato, majamudra, desert fathers and all the deepest philosopho-mystical-theological hardcoreness i can find and having myself all these profound insights and God like experiences but this request completely stumps me.

As for my sis, shes been to church and likes to read all those stupid true blood and eclipse vamp book series. So someting more along the lines where you can follow a character as they get closer to God would probably be best. Shes has experience when relaxing in a bath to go deep within and in letting go and has also had fleeting mystical experiences before......... just as somewhat of a background.

Any suggestions?

+2 more 
posted on Jul, 28 2011 @ 08:19 PM
link   
The bible? Btw, you didn't say which God?

(2nd blessed line)
edit on 28-7-2011 by Balkan because: (no reason given)

+1 more 
posted on Jul, 28 2011 @ 08:21 PM
link   

Originally posted by dominicus
Shes has experience when relaxing in a bath to go deep within and in letting go and has also had fleeting mystical experiences before......... just as somewhat of a background.

I might try urinating while taking a bath myself if it means i'll have a "mystical experience". Interesting.

link   
neale donald walsh,it restored a bit of faith in me.

link