It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Stimulation Addiction

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Jul, 7 2011 @ 09:29 AM
link   
Sometimes I think with modern technology and advances it is easy to develop an addiction to stimulation. Whether it be music, tv/movies, drugs, etc. it all helps us take our focus off reality to a degree. It almost become like a coping habit to deal with a reality that we aren't comfortable with.

What do you guys think about stimulation in today's world?

posted on Jul, 7 2011 @ 09:38 AM
link   
I think people are just getting shorter attention spans and don't like to be bored. I've noticed my attention span got ridiculously short after I graduated from high school and now I'm not really happy unless I'm listening to music or doing something physical.

posted on Jul, 7 2011 @ 09:39 AM
link   
Just look at any child, or adult man child, who plays video games 24/7.
Visual stimulation can be similar to drug induced stimulation, and withdrawals from video games make people freak out like a Heroin addiction.

posted on Jul, 7 2011 @ 09:52 AM
link   
reply to post by JibbyJedi

Ah, the video game hate club is only so funny. "Man Child"

So everyone who plays video games is a child? Great.
What do great, adult minds like you do? Getting stimulated on ATS? Not much better i'd might say.

And i don't see a bad thing in "Stimulation". People need it, people get stimulated by different things. Some do it while reading a book, other while playing a game, other while playing an instrument or take a walk in the park. People need to get their mind away from the 'real world' so to say. If not, we would all go crazy because we would only thinking about the bad things in the world, rarely experiencing something nice.