It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Are all the Recent Volcanic Eruptions going to Effect the Climate?

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Jun, 8 2011 @ 07:19 PM
link   
I was just wondering if all the recent volcanic activity is going to increase the CO2 emissions on the planet.
I am not an expert on this but given the few major eruptions this last year (Iceland and now Chile) it has me thinking about all the effects this will cause.
The weather has already been pretty extreme globally, is there any credible information as to how these recent eruptions will effect us all?

There is considerable debate on the role that humans play in changing global climate through both the burning of fossil fuels and the release of chlorofluorocarbon (CFC) gases. Some argue that human interaction poses less of a threat to our atmosphere than do natural processes, like volcanic eruptions. This places a great deal of importance on understanding the role of volcanic eruptions in affecting global climate change. Whatever the source, it is apparent that compositional changes in the earth's atmosphere generate three principal climatic effects:

THE OZONE EFFECT: