It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

When will we truly explore the stars?

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on May, 16 2011 @ 06:10 PM
link   
I am a complete amateur when it comes to space travel, exploration, technology, physics etc - but I am slowly learning!

As I understand it, one of the closest planets (Gilese 518d), is 20 light years away - which is 300,000 years based on our current space travel technology.

From what I've read, we are nowhere near developing technology to achieve travel at anywhere near light speed.

Will we achieve a breakthrough in our generation? Or should I stop looking at the stars?

posted on May, 16 2011 @ 06:12 PM
link   
Get into a blue box and then call me, only way you'll see the stars is if you go with a crazy man. Disclosure just ain't coming, I wish it was but it ain't..Don't stop looking at the stars I look up too, hoping I'll see something but it never comes. Maybe a UFO and that's it, nothing I ever want to see. Plain and simple, it's driven me along with a sprinkle of conspiracy manically insane. When you go crazy you understand the universe better, and I have. Things are easier to understand now.
edit on 16-5-2011 by Heartisblack because: (no reason given)

edit on 16-5-2011 by Heartisblack because: (no reason given)

posted on May, 16 2011 @ 06:16 PM
link   
Dunno. I believe we already have technology capable of science-fictionesque space travel, they just aren't revealing it to us.

posted on May, 16 2011 @ 06:21 PM
link   
reply to post by ExCommando

I think if we ever hope to explore space, wormholes (if they even exist) would need to be discovered and used. Gilese 518d is 20 light years away, which after hearing of planets and solar systems thousands of light year away, suddenly doesn't seem that far.