It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

The Greatest American Songwriter.

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on May, 16 2011 @ 05:47 PM
link   
Most people have never heard of Townes Van Zandt, but those who have regard him as one of the, if not THE, greatest songwriters of all time. Although a bluesman by trade, his music transcends genre and his songs are the epitome of perfection. His songs have been covered by hundreds of other musicians, most notably Willie Nelson, Steve Earl, and the Cowboy Junkies (who even named themselves after one of his songs). Please take the time to listen and enjoy. After years of listening to his songs, I simply can't imagine life without his music.

posted on May, 16 2011 @ 05:57 PM
link   
Never heard of him.
Can't say I like him, sorry.

posted on May, 16 2011 @ 06:11 PM
link   
reply to post by HenryPatrick

Man now that is a good debate. Speaking as an Aussie the Americans have truck loads of great songwriters! So many I don't think a definitive answer could never be achieved! I like Robert Johnson, Dylan, Muddy, John Cougar, Springsteen, Carole King & John Fogarty. I love work of the Eagles as well. I could go on all day! But to name the best with clear consensus would be near impossible!
edit on 16-5-2011 by phatpackage because: (no reason given)

posted on May, 16 2011 @ 06:14 PM
link   

I'm just happy you didn't say Bruce Springstein.

posted on May, 16 2011 @ 09:47 PM
link   
Whether you like their music, or not, surely that title would go to George Gershwin, or Irving Berlin, if anyone.

posted on May, 16 2011 @ 10:14 PM
link   
reply to post by ANOK

if we are talking that era, i would have to go with Cole Porter, but anybody who disagrees with my assessment is simply not listening with an open mind...

posted on May, 17 2011 @ 05:35 PM
link