It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Linux Mint KDE.... TV External display trouble. (Update)

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Apr, 26 2011 @ 10:54 AM
link   
I am a new Linux user, so I am just learning the system. I am using Mint With KDE

I am trying to hook up my Sony Vaio Laptop to my TV, I will be connecting it using an RGB Cable (Monitor cable)

I did what I usually do in Windows, hook up the TV and restart the computer. After restart, then I go into the display options and set the size. When the computer reloads both displays are messed up, as expected!

I go into display settings, and the size is already set to about the top, above that is “Auto 0000x0000” What ever your graphic supports.
I select Auto, and it gets really out of shape on both displays.

Here is what is going on:
TV display: Desktop is too big, cuts off sides and top (Cant see the task bar)

Laptop display: Desktop is too small black border around background image, task bar and widgets.

I want my TV to be the only monitor when it is connected.

Any ideas?

Thanks
Tygart
edit on 26-4-2011 by Tygart because: (no reason given)

posted on Apr, 26 2011 @ 10:58 AM
link   
reply to post by Tygart

Not sure how to do this in your linux OS specifically.....

Most laptops that have an external display port (vga or otherwise) usually have a key combo to set the external as your primary display. On my HP laptops it's always FN (hp function key near ALT) then F4 (always an F key).

I'd try that for starters.....

If that fails the problem sounds like it's cloning the display so you might have to configure it as a primary display manually in the display options.

i had a pain getting this working with an older version of Debian.