It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Thoughts about interstellar travel and ideas?

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Apr, 24 2011 @ 09:26 PM
link   
Ive been thinking about this topic a lot lately and its frustrating to say the least

I'm slowly coming to the conclusion that unless some major yet "simple" obstacles are overcome that we are stuck here, within our immediate solar system for quite some time. I'd like to point out that Im no expert physicist, or mathematics wizard, but I do use both disciplines on a daily basis and have a deep interest in both.

Additionally, I'm going to be brief and withhold some thoughts regarding the obstacles until later in an attempt to get a good discussion going

So, the obstacles....

Energy - Whatever mode of transport will ultimatley get us to the stars, its going to require energy and lots of it. Candidates that I think are viable are nuclear and some form of quantum related energy, solar is no good IMO as once your are past Jupiter theres nothing in the "tank".

Ive some ideas, and questions regarding quantim field related inihalation, as from what I can understand, when an electron and positron collide, 2 gamma particles are released. These have energy, we have gamma detectors, thus can we harvest energy from those? If electrons and positrons are created and destroyed constantly in space, then isnt that an unlimited source of energy? (plus arent gamma particles lethal, if there are so many created from this ongoing process everywhere why arent we all dead?
)

Propulsion - This one in particular is puzzling, if you have the energy, how do you use that energy to move. Ive no ideas at all on any propulsion devices, Im still dealing with energy