What are the best Geiger counter to acquire ?

page: 1

join

posted on Mar, 30 2011 @ 03:54 PM
link   
Hi all ATSers,

This is my first thread so if it is in the wrong section moderators, feel free to move it to the right forum.

With all that happened so recently ( radiation spikes on radiation networks, Japan, etc) I finally decided it was time for me to get a hand on a geiger counter. I'm no expert in this area so I went on ebay but didn't find anything digital or with a decent price (which looks like homemade geiger counter :dn

What do you guys suggest me ? I have a 200-400 $ budget and don't want to pay more but I prefer a digital to analogue indicator for precision. Fast readings would be great too ( better than a reading each 36 seconds ...).

By the way if there are others characteristics I should consider in my purchase feel free to teach me about it I would be glad.

Thruthseek3r

posted on Mar, 30 2011 @ 04:07 PM
link   
reply to post by thruthseek3r

Is it not true that regular geiger counters do not pick up on the (MOX) plutonium isotopes?
I don't know and it would be nice to have this verified, but I would think that would be something to seriously ask about when buying one.
edit on 30-3-2011 by OptimisticPessimist because: (no reason given)

posted on Mar, 30 2011 @ 04:12 PM
link   
reply to post by OptimisticPessimist

I have no idea but it could be something to consider knowing MOX was used in at least of the the Japanese nuclear powerplants in Fukushima. It is also these elements (Uranium-Plutonium) that can affect us the most and that have a long half-life.

posted on Mar, 30 2011 @ 04:13 PM
link   

Originally posted by OptimisticPessimist

Is it not true that regular geiger counters do not pick up on the (MOX) plutonium isotopes?
I don't know and it would be nice to have this verified, but I would think that would be something to seriously ask about when buying one.

No, its not true.