It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Pole Shift Happening Now? NICT Is Finally Up But Look At This...

page: 1
<<   2  3 >>

join
share:
+4 more 
posted on Mar, 30 2011 @ 12:32 AM
link   
Hello ATSer,

I've been following NICT for some time, but it was down for about 2 weeks due to the power outages in Japan (the servers are based in Japan). NICT monitors our magnetosphere, and is the only source I know of.

So it has been off-line since the Japan quake, and came back online late last night. Surprise surprise! North and south pole are inversed, how convenient that it happened while it was off-line.

Now I'm asking you, is this normal, did it ever happen? I've been monitoring that for maybe 3-4 months, and it's the first time I see such a huge distortion. Now look at this video:

In his video, we can clearly see that it was hot today, just look at the pressure indicator in his video. But that is not my main concern. The problem is, Sun ejected quite a big CME today, and it seems to be Earth-directed. You can watch a video from the same youtuber about it:

So people, what do you think of all this. What happens when a CME impacts a reversed magnetosphere?
EDIT: Here's the website!
EDIT 2: Here's a timeline of the reversal, starting on 03/29/2011 15:00:30 UT :

Here's what look like to be the peak of the impact

And look at how fast it stops, then reverse:

Nothing influencing the magnetosphere, but stays flipped