It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Questions the skeptic DID answer ... a hysteria free thread

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:
+2 more 
posted on Mar, 18 2011 @ 01:35 PM
link   
The events of the past weak in Japan have sparked a number of discussions. Some have been rather good but when it pertains to the events at the Fukushima Dai-ichi nuclear power plant most have been based on either ignorance or fear or a combination of the two. While I am not a "nuclear engineer" or a "nuclear physicist" or an “expert” per say, I am a licensed engineer and have worked in the power and petrochemical industry for over a decade, including a relatively lengthy project at a nuclear power plant.

This post will attempt to clarify some of what I feel are the key issues. It’s a mix of opinion, facts and speculation based on these facts.

1.Why build a nuclear power plant in such an area with known hazards like Fukushima?

When siting a plant several things, aside from NIMBY considerations, are taken into account: how is your fuel going to be delivered, how are major components going to be shipped, how to interconnect with the grid, where is your water coming from for steam condensation and makeup water, and what site specific issues are present.

While time and money solve all problems there is always an optimal site based on these considerations when finalizing a location. One site may provide easy access to fuel and a grid interconnect, but it might be dry with little water for steam condensing. Another site might proved excellent access to all three but be in a hurricane or seismic zone.