It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

 

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

 

A Warning to my Western Coast Friends...Get away from the coast NOW!!!

page: 3
17
<< 1  2    4 >>

log in

join
share:

posted on Mar, 11 2011 @ 04:45 AM
link   
I can literally walk down to the beach in 10 minutes. If the Hawaii wave is low, I might just head out and see this for myself.




posted on Mar, 11 2011 @ 04:46 AM
link   
 


off-topic post removed to prevent thread-drift


 



posted on Mar, 11 2011 @ 04:49 AM
link   
People please stick to the topic of the thread and no more off topic posts.

Thank you
Sauron
Super-Moderator



posted on Mar, 11 2011 @ 04:50 AM
link   
Thanks for the heads up westcoast.

I live on the south west part of San Juan island, very close to the water (about 400 yards away) perhaps 30 ft elevation.

What are your thoughts on the odds of this tsunami hitting this island given that the island is somewhat buffered by the Olympic range to the south, and Vancouver island to the west? I am looking right at the straight of San Juan directly out my door.

Thanks for any possible insight.



posted on Mar, 11 2011 @ 04:50 AM
link   
I really hope that certain posters don't distract from the frighting reality that some of our member are at risk right now, not to mention friends and loved ones, as well the risk to their homes and other property even if they evacuate.



posted on Mar, 11 2011 @ 04:54 AM
link   
reply to post by TaZCoN
 


I would hate to give advice when I am not sure myself. I think the best thing to do right now is stay vigilant with the reports. If this wave is going to be larger than they think, it will become apparant in the next two to three hours.

If you are at all uncertain... inland. Especially if you need to take a ferry. What can it hurt????



posted on Mar, 11 2011 @ 05:03 AM
link   
reply to post by westcoast
 


Not a problem
I haven't checked out any of the feeds of Japan but people are making it out to be bad. I had been to Pattaya and Phucket Thailand and Sri Lanka a few years before they got hit by the Tsunami and then watched them wash away on video. I remember seeing the 2 story hotel I stayed at get wiped out, it was very surreal, so I think I'll be sitting out the Japanese footage. Goodnight to everyone that's staying up.



posted on Mar, 11 2011 @ 05:15 AM
link   
reply to post by westcoast
 


Thank you for the reply...

I'll be heading inland, and to higher elevation in a few hours just in case.



posted on Mar, 11 2011 @ 05:19 AM
link   
One last thing before I go to sleep China had a 5.8 and didn't do to well. www.thehindu.com...



posted on Mar, 11 2011 @ 05:36 AM
link   
Here are the arrival times for the West Coast:



Neah Bay, Washington 0710 PST MAR 11 1510 UTC MAR 11
Cape Blanco, Oregon 0711 PST MAR 11 1511 UTC MAR 11
La Push, Washington 0711 PST MAR 11 1511 UTC MAR 11
Clatsop Spit, Oregon 0712 PST MAR 11 1512 UTC MAR 11
the Oregon-Washington border 0712 PST MAR 11 1512 UTC MAR 11
Point Grenville, Washington 0714 PST MAR 11 1514 UTC MAR 11
Port Moller, Alaska 0614 AKST MAR 11 1514 UTC MAR 11
Charleston, Oregon 0715 PST MAR 11 1515 UTC MAR 11
Cascade Head, Oregon (70 miles SW of Portland) 0716 PST MAR 11 1516 UTC MAR 11
Douglas/Lane County Line, Oregon (10 miles SW o 0717 PST MAR 11 1517 UTC MAR 11
Cape Mendocino, California 0717 PST MAR 11 1517 UTC MAR 11
Tillamook Bay, Oregon 0718 PST MAR 11 1518 UTC MAR 11
Horse Mountain, California (50 miles SW of Eure 0719 PST MAR 11 1519 UTC MAR 11
Fort Bragg, California 0721 PST MAR 11 1521 UTC MAR 11
Humboldt Bay, California 0722 PST MAR 11 1522 UTC MAR 11
the Oregon-California border 0723 PST MAR 11 1523 UTC MAR 11
Crescent City, California 0723 PST MAR 11 1523 UTC MAR 11
Seaside, Oregon 0724 PST MAR 11 1524 UTC MAR 11
Westport, Washington 0725 PST MAR 11 1525 UTC MAR 11
Newport, Oregon 0726 PST MAR 11 1526 UTC MAR 11
Point Arena, California 0726 PST MAR 11 1526 UTC MAR 11
Gualala Point, California (80 miles NW of San F 0727 PST MAR 11 1527 UTC MAR 11
Point Reyes, California 0739 PST MAR 11 1539 UTC MAR 11
Davenport, California (10 miles NW of Santa Cru 0739 PST MAR 11 1539 UTC MAR 11
Point Sur, California 0742 PST MAR 11 1542 UTC MAR 11
Astoria, Oregon 0744 PST MAR 11 1544 UTC MAR 11
Monterey, California 0744 PST MAR 11 1544 UTC MAR 11
Port Angeles, Washington 0748 PST MAR 11 1548 UTC MAR 11
Ragged Point, California (45 miles NW of San Lu 0750 PST MAR 11 1550 UTC MAR 11
DART 46412 0752 PST MAR 11 1552 UTC MAR 11
Point Concepcion, California 0757 PST MAR 11 1557 UTC MAR 11
Port San Luis, California 0803 PST MAR 11 1603 UTC MAR 11
Bella Bella, British Columbia 0805 PST MAR 11 1605 UTC MAR 11
San Francisco, California 0808 PST MAR 11 1608 UTC MAR 11
Cape Newenham, Alaska 0716 AKST MAR 11 1616 UTC MAR 11
Santa Barbara, California 0817 PST MAR 11 1617 UTC MAR 11
Rincon Point, California (15 miles SE of Santa 0828 PST MAR 11 1628 UTC MAR 11
Santa Monica, California 0831 PST MAR 11 1631 UTC MAR 11
San Pedro, California 0832 PST MAR 11 1632 UTC MAR 11
Newport Beach, California 0837 PST MAR 11 1637 UTC MAR 11
La Jolla, California 0841 PST MAR 11 1641 UTC MAR 11
Seattle, Washington 0844 PST MAR 11 1644 UTC MAR 11
Alamitos Bay, California (20 miles SE of L.A.) 0846 PST MAR 11 1646 UTC MAR 11


go HERE for the complete list



posted on Mar, 11 2011 @ 05:56 AM
link   
reply to post by westcoast
 


It works the other way around mate.

The deeper the water is, the lower the wave crest.

But, as the wave travels towards shore, the depth of the sea gets shallower and the wave gets higher.

Hopefully, it'll peter out a lot before it hits.

Good luck everyone in the affected areas.



posted on Mar, 11 2011 @ 06:54 AM
link   
Here is the latest advisory/warning. THe swells look like they are getting bigger:


Location Lat. Lon. Time Amplitude ------------------------ ----- ------ ------- -----------
Shemya AK 52.7N 174.1E 1130UTC 05.1FT/01.56M
Adak AK 51.9N 176.6W 1112UTC 01.5FT/00.46M
Boso Japan 34.8N 140.8E 0600UTC 02.5FT/00.75M
Naha Japan 26.2N 127.7E 1022UTC 01.6FT/00.49M
Ofunato Japan 39.0N 141.8E 0603UTC 10.7FT/03.25M
Omaezaki Japan 34.6N 138.2E 0809UTC 04.6FT/01.39M
Tokai Japan 33.8N 137.6E 0649UTC 00.8FT/00.23M
Tosashimizu Japan 32.8N 132.9E 0753UTC 03.0FT/00.91M
Kwajalein Marshall Isl 8.7N 167.7E 1049UTC 01.0FT/00.30M
Midway Is. USA 28.2N 177.4W 1044UTC 05.1FT/01.55M
Wake Is. USA 19.3N 166.6E 0918UTC 01.7FT/00.52M
Legaspi Philippines 13.2N 123.8E 1020UTC 01.1FT/00.32M
Dutch Harbor AK 53.9N 166.5W 1134UTC 01.6FT/00.48M
Nikolski AK 52.9N 168.9W 1156UTC 01.4FT/00.41M
French Frigate Shoals 23.5N 166.2W 1211UTC 01.5FT/00.45M
St Paul Is. AK 57.1N 170.3W 1225UTC 02.0FT/00.61M


Warning link


NOAA link



posted on Mar, 11 2011 @ 07:00 AM
link   
supposed to hit Hawaii any minute now...

Hope they get thru it OK



posted on Mar, 11 2011 @ 07:25 AM
link   
GROAN....trying to go to bed, and my dog starts alerting again.


Please just let it be a cat........



posted on Mar, 11 2011 @ 08:12 AM
link   
Latest update:


Small Tsunami Waves Forecasted For Washington




For Washington coast:


Moclips: 3.9 feet Long Beach: 2.6 feet Westport: 1.8 feet Neah Bay: 1.3 feet Bellingham: 1.0 feet Port Angeles: 0.9 feet



Oregon:



Clatsop Spit: 4.5 feet Cannon Beach: 3.7 feet Oceanside: 3.3 feet



SOURCE


SO...thank god, so far we aren't expecting much damage in Washington. Further South will get hit harder, so I don't know.



posted on Mar, 11 2011 @ 08:49 AM
link   
Local news just showed a clip of Skyline Drive in San Mateo County of lines and lines of cars of people leaving the coastline.


They may even cancel BART service from West Oakland to the city. The Bart train goes UNDER the Bay.



posted on Mar, 11 2011 @ 08:50 AM
link   
So I'm not breathing a sigh of relief until this is all over.

Someone in hawaii was just reporting an area where the water has receded and exposed a reef (being reported on my local news, live) That is a VERY bad sign. Remember, there is more than just one wave.



posted on Mar, 11 2011 @ 09:44 AM
link   
Live Laguna Beach Cam
abclocal.go.com...



posted on Mar, 11 2011 @ 11:41 AM
link   
Waves in Tofino, Chesterman Beach British Columbia, look not too bad right now. No live video feed available but their is a live picture feed. (15 sec updates) www.surfcam.ca...

I love how people are checking out the waves, every once and awhile you see groups of people watching.
edit on 11/3/2011 by TheSparrowSings because: (no reason given)


Why is a car driving down the beach in California (Live feed from Laguna Beach) Is that common.. *lol*
edit on 11/3/2011 by TheSparrowSings because: (no reason given)



posted on Mar, 11 2011 @ 11:48 AM
link   
reply to post by TheSparrowSings
 





Why is a car driving down the beach in California (Live feed from Laguna Beach) Is that common.. *lol*


LOL Its Beach Patrol! I have been watching them chase people and their dogs off the beach



new topics

top topics



 
17
<< 1  2    4 >>

log in

join