It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Brilliant Newfoundlander Invents a Heating Solution

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Mar, 8 2011 @ 04:53 PM
link   
Now if I were to guess, considering this video came out in 2008, it has probably been posted around here somewhere. Not having a clue of what it may have been titled makes it tricky to find, so I apologize for the re-post if this is so.

With that being said, it still might be nice for members that are new and may not have seen it to chime and give their opinions. As I am not a rocket scientist, Im not sure how well this would actually work, but it is still pretty cool in theory at least. It would be nice to hear the pros and cons on it anyway as it does seem to make sense as to being workable.

Just a clue to what the video is actually about is that this guy is using aluminum cans as a type of working solar panel.

posted on Mar, 8 2011 @ 05:03 PM
link   
I personally had not seen that video, but will be sharing it with others.

Excellent idea and seems mostly doable in a garage on your own if you have the time and tools... although, I'd avoid drinking soda and do beer instead!

S&F OP.

~Namaste

posted on Mar, 8 2011 @ 05:05 PM
link   
I got a nice piece of plexiglass that I would like to use.
I have been thinking of these things, thinking of ways to save energy costs in the winter.
Can't beat the price of cans to use as solar heating units.
I have seen these before though, but now I am re-inspired simply because he is actually selling them and as he claims the cost is paid for by the energy savings and then some.

posted on Mar, 8 2011 @ 05:12 PM
link   
I think it's a phenomenal idea. One thing occurs to me immediately- Does it work on a cloudy day? Or is meant strictly as a supplemental heat source?

posted on Mar, 8 2011 @ 05:18 PM
link