Are you free?

page: 1

join

posted on Mar, 8 2011 @ 01:31 AM
link   
www.frontporchrepublic.com...

I subscribe to a small journal dedicated to country living. In a recent issue, a letter to the editor caught my eye. It was responding to an article in which the editor made the following assertion: “What, on paper, would appear to be the freest society in the world appears, in practice, to be among the most oppressive. Does this bother anyone besides me?”

Here is a letter in response:

I would like to agree with you. It bothers me for two reasons. And not the reasons you might think. You see I’m not American though I have been visiting the USA for 20 years or so for vacation and business so have the perspective of an outsider.

The two reasons are that 1) the people in the US seem to be oblivious to the inexorable legalistic technocracy that the nation is becoming and 2) since the US culture is globally influential through media and multi-national businesses there is a creeping legalism in countries where common sense normally prevails.