It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

RIFT: Planes of Telara

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Jan, 25 2011 @ 10:20 PM
link   
Alright, so I started playing the beta today. So far, I'm thoroughly impressed after nearly 4 years of WoW. Anybody else here in the beta? Thoughts about it?

posted on Jan, 25 2011 @ 11:14 PM
link   
I only got to play for a few minutes today as it made me re-download the whole thing once the beta started. So far I'm most impressed with how smooth it is for a beta even at max settings. It does have many wow'ish elements, mostly with the UI and quests etc. But the classes and random rifts breaking into the world remind me of a combination of different mmo's, like the public quests in Warhammer, and the class diversity of Dark Age of Camelot. Even some classes seem similar to DAoC, like the elementalist.

None of this bothers me and in fact I welcome it as seems they are doing a good job of meshing these mechanics together. It will be tough for someone like me to play who loves to see all the different combinations, and has a cadre of alts. Also, that brings up a concern. Will they be able to successfully balance all these classes in the long run? WoW still has problems with this and they've been out for a long time. Rift has its hands full in this department I think, but aside from that I'm having a blast with it and I cant wait to get off work so I can try it again.

posted on Jan, 26 2011 @ 09:13 AM
link   
reply to post by cerberus00

I got in about 6 hours yesterday, made it to level 10. I agree that they do a good job of meshing all these different ideas together, but to me there just seems to be something missing. I don't know what it is but the game just feels cold to me, and that's coming from somebody who plays EVE

posted on Mar, 2 2011 @ 04:04 AM
link