It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

We Must Be Civil

page: 1
<<   2  3 >>

join
share:

posted on Jan, 14 2011 @ 05:16 PM
link   
I am a student of people. It is part of why i am a manager of people, as well. They kind of compliment each other.

One of the things i have seen is the backlash to the AZ shootings. The calls for "civility", and the completely absurdity that those calls for civility are basically "Look, be civil, dammit!"

Which prompted me to write We Must Be Civil

Over the last week there has, thankfully and finally, been a call for some civility in political discourse. In my time on the internet, I notice that the current round of political hate really ramped up around the 2000 election of GW Bush. Many Gore supporters felt ripped off, slighted. Possibly they were, as I would not be surprised to find that the election was tampered with in Florida, as alleged. The backlash to this was immense, and really started off an entire “Kill Bush” meme that spread like wildfire among the populace, primarily the youth (who tend to be more idealistic in their thinking, and were the most disappointed by the results).

Then the 2004 election came, and it was another nail biter. When Bush won THAT election, the hate was dialed up considerably. I lived his last 4 years in fear that our nation would not survive his presidency. I logged thousands of hours online during that time, interacting with others both domestic and abroad. The utter lack of civility was astounding. To see the way people would talk to each other…it was horrible.

Eventually I joined up with a forum that does a fairly good job of keeping the pure hate off the boards, but there is still this seething, boiling hate under the surface among many members, with frequent overspills that result in action by site administrators.