It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

 

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

 

Quake Watch 2011

page: 241
203
<< 238  239  240    242  243  244 >>

log in

join
share:

posted on Sep, 2 2011 @ 06:36 AM
link   

Earthquake Details

This event has been reviewed by a seismologist.

Magnitude 7.1
Date-Time

Friday, September 02, 2011 at 10:55:54 UTC
Friday, September 02, 2011 at 01:55:54 AM at epicenter
Time of Earthquake in other Time Zones

Location 52.184°N, 171.684°W
Depth 35.5 km (22.1 miles)
Region FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS, ALASKA
Distances 45 km (27 miles) SW of Amukta Island, Alaska
85 km (52 miles) SW of Yunaska Island, Alaska
1658 km (1030 miles) WSW of Anchorage, Alaska
2410 km (1497 miles) W of WHITEHORSE, Yukon Territory, Canada
Location Uncertainty horizontal +/- 14 km (8.7 miles); depth +/- 4.4 km (2.7 miles)
Parameters NST=824, Nph=825, Dmin=172.5 km, Rmss=0.81 sec, Gp= 54°,
M-type=regional moment magnitude (Mw), Version=9
Source

Magnitude: USGS NEIC (WDCS-D)
Location: USGS NEIC (WDCS-D)

Event ID usc0005n83

earthquake.usgs.gov...

edit on 2/9/2011 by PuterMan because: (no reason given)


reply to post by jjjtir
 


Apologies, did not see you had posted.


edit on 2/9/2011 by PuterMan because: (no reason given)


A red tsunami warning is in effect



wcatwc.arh.noaa.gov...


edit on 2/9/2011 by PuterMan because: (no reason given)




posted on Sep, 2 2011 @ 06:39 AM
link   
reply to post by jjjtir
 


I believe this was an erroneous pick of the Fox Island quake hence it was deleted.

BTW my post above is the up[date so I feel vindicated!!



posted on Sep, 2 2011 @ 06:46 AM
link   

A tsunami is imminent



wcatwc.arh.noaa.gov...


Estimated times of initial tsunami arrival:

DART 46408 0315 AKDT SEP 2 1115 UTC SEP 2
DART 46413 0328 AKDT SEP 2 1128 UTC SEP 2
Atka, Alaska 0329 AKDT SEP 2 1129 UTC SEP 2
DART 46402 0335 AKDT SEP 2 1135 UTC SEP 2
Amchitka Pass, Alaska (125 miles W of Adak) 0343 AKDT SEP 2 1143 UTC SEP 2
Nikolski, Alaska 0345 AKDT SEP 2 1145 UTC SEP 2
Adak, Alaska 0352 AKDT SEP 2 1152 UTC SEP 2
DART 21414 0353 AKDT SEP 2 1153 UTC SEP 2
Amchitka, Alaska 0354 AKDT SEP 2 1154 UTC SEP 2
DART 46403 0409 AKDT SEP 2 1209 UTC SEP 2
Dutch Harbor, Alaska 0412 AKDT SEP 2 1212 UTC SEP 2
Akutan, Alaska 0414 AKDT SEP 2 1214 UTC SEP 2
DART 21415 0421 AKDT SEP 2 1221 UTC SEP 2
Unimak Pass, Alaska (80 miles NE of Dutch Harbo 0425 AKDT SEP 2 1225 UTC SEP 2
Shemya, Alaska 0437 AKDT SEP 2 1237 UTC SEP 2
Attu, Alaska 0443 AKDT SEP 2 1243 UTC SEP 2
DART 46409 0450 AKDT SEP 2 1250 UTC SEP 2
King Cove, Alaska 0453 AKDT SEP 2 1253 UTC SEP 2
St. Paul, Alaska 0454 AKDT SEP 2 1254 UTC SEP 2
Sand Point, Alaska 0454 AKDT SEP 2 1254 UTC SEP 2
Perryville, Alaska 0516 AKDT SEP 2 1316 UTC SEP 2
DART 46410 0516 AKDT SEP 2 1316 UTC SEP 2
Cold Bay, Alaska 0527 AKDT SEP 2 1327 UTC SEP 2
Chignik Bay, Alaska 0547 AKDT SEP 2 1347 UTC SEP 2
Kodiak, Alaska 0548 AKDT SEP 2 1348 UTC SEP 2
Cape Suckling, Alaska (75 miles SE of Cordova) 0549 AKDT SEP 2 1349 UTC SEP 2
Old Harbor, Alaska 0550 AKDT SEP 2 1350 UTC SEP 2
Hinchinbrook Entrance, Alaska (90 miles E of Se 0559 AKDT SEP 2 1359 UTC SEP 2
Seward, Alaska 0613 AKDT SEP 2 1413 UTC SEP 2
Alitak, Alaska 0614 AKDT SEP 2 1414 UTC SEP 2
Elfin Cove, Alaska 0615 AKDT SEP 2 1415 UTC SEP 2
Kennedy Entrance, Alaska (40 miles SW of Homer) 0618 AKDT SEP 2 1418 UTC SEP 2
Yakutat, Alaska 0623 AKDT SEP 2 1423 UTC SEP 2
Cape Fairweather, Alaska (80 miles SE of Yakuta 0623 AKDT SEP 2 1423 UTC SEP 2
Sitka, Alaska 0623 AKDT SEP 2 1423 UTC SEP 2
Salisbury Sound, Alaska (25 miles NW of Sitka) 0624 AKDT SEP 2 1424 UTC SEP 2
Port Alexander, Alaska 0624 AKDT SEP 2 1424 UTC SEP 2
the Alaska/British Columbia border 0728 PDT SEP 2 1428 UTC SEP 2
Langara Island, British Columbia 0733 PDT SEP 2 1433 UTC SEP 2
Valdez, Alaska 0633 AKDT SEP 2 1433 UTC SEP 2
Cordova, Alaska 0642 AKDT SEP 2 1442 UTC SEP 2
Cape Decision, Alaska (85 miles SE of Sitka) 0644 AKDT SEP 2 1444 UTC SEP 2
DART 46419 0757 PDT SEP 2 1457 UTC SEP 2
Homer, Alaska 0706 AKDT SEP 2 1506 UTC SEP 2
DART 46404 0815 PDT SEP 2 1515 UTC SEP 2
the north tip of Vancouver Island, British Colu 0816 PDT SEP 2 1516 UTC SEP 2
DART 46407 0822 PDT SEP 2 1522 UTC SEP 2
Craig, Alaska 0724 AKDT SEP 2 1524 UTC SEP 2
Saint Matthew Island, Alaska 0728 AKDT SEP 2 1528 UTC SEP 2
Ketchikan, Alaska 0730 AKDT SEP 2 1530 UTC SEP 2
Juneau, Alaska 0732 AKDT SEP 2 1532 UTC SEP 2
DART 46411 0847 PDT SEP 2 1547 UTC SEP 2
Tofino, British Columbia 0856 PDT SEP 2 1556 UTC SEP 2
Prince Rupert, British Columbia 0901 PDT SEP 2 1601 UTC SEP 2
the Washington-British Columbia border 0902 PDT SEP 2 1602 UTC SEP 2
Neah Bay, Washington 0908 PDT SEP 2 1608 UTC SEP 2
Clatsop Spit, Oregon 0909 PDT SEP 2 1609 UTC SEP 2
Cape Blanco, Oregon 0909 PDT SEP 2 1609 UTC SEP 2
La Push, Washington 0909 PDT SEP 2 1609 UTC SEP 2
the Oregon-Washington border 0910 PDT SEP 2 1610 UTC SEP 2
Point Grenville, Washington 0911 PDT SEP 2 1611 UTC SEP 2
Charleston, Oregon 0912 PDT SEP 2 1612 UTC SEP 2
Port Moller, Alaska 0812 AKDT SEP 2 1612 UTC SEP 2
Cape Mendocino, California 0914 PDT SEP 2 1614 UTC SEP 2
Douglas/Lane County Line, Oregon (10 miles SW o 0914 PDT SEP 2 1614 UTC SEP 2
Cascade Head, Oregon (70 miles SW of Portland) 0914 PDT SEP 2 1614 UTC SEP 2
Tillamook Bay, Oregon 0915 PDT SEP 2 1615 UTC SEP 2
Horse Mountain, California (50 miles SW of Eure 0917 PDT SEP 2 1617 UTC SEP 2
Fort Bragg, California 0918 PDT SEP 2 1618 UTC SEP 2
Humboldt Bay, California 0919 PDT SEP 2 1619 UTC SEP 2
Crescent City, California 0920 PDT SEP 2 1620 UTC SEP 2
Seaside, Oregon 0921 PDT SEP 2 1621 UTC SEP 2
the Oregon-California border 0921 PDT SEP 2 1621 UTC SEP 2
Westport, Washington 0922 PDT SEP 2 1622 UTC SEP 2
Point Arena, California 0923 PDT SEP 2 1623 UTC SEP 2
Newport, Oregon 0923 PDT SEP 2 1623 UTC SEP 2
Gualala Point, California (80 miles NW of San F 0925 PDT SEP 2 1625 UTC SEP 2
Point Reyes, California 0936 PDT SEP 2 1636 UTC SEP 2
Davenport, California (10 miles NW of Santa Cru 0937 PDT SEP 2 1637 UTC SEP 2
Point Sur, California 0940 PDT SEP 2 1640 UTC SEP 2
Astoria, Oregon 0941 PDT SEP 2 1641 UTC SEP 2
Monterey, California 0943 PDT SEP 2 1643 UTC SEP 2
Port Angeles, Washington 0945 PDT SEP 2 1645 UTC SEP 2
Ragged Point, California (45 miles NW of San Lu 0949 PDT SEP 2 1649 UTC SEP 2
DART 46412 0952 PDT SEP 2 1652 UTC SEP 2
Point Conception, California 0956 PDT SEP 2 1656 UTC SEP 2
Port San Luis, California 1002 PDT SEP 2 1702 UTC SEP 2
Bella Bella, British Columbia 1002 PDT SEP 2 1702 UTC SEP 2
San Francisco, California 1006 PDT SEP 2 1706 UTC SEP 2
Santa Barbara, California 1016 PDT SEP 2 1716 UTC SEP 2
Rincon Point, California (15 miles SE of Santa 1027 PDT SEP 2 1727 UTC SEP 2
Cape Newenham, Alaska 0928 AKDT SEP 2 1728 UTC SEP 2
Santa Monica, California 1031 PDT SEP 2 1731 UTC SEP 2
San Pedro, California 1031 PDT SEP 2 1731 UTC SEP 2
Newport Beach, California 1037 PDT SEP 2 1737 UTC SEP 2
La Jolla, California 1041 PDT SEP 2 1741 UTC SEP 2
Seattle, Washington 1041 PDT SEP 2 1741 UTC SEP 2
Gambell, Alaska 0945 AKDT SEP 2 1745 UTC SEP 2
Alamitos Bay, California (20 miles SE of L.A.) 1046 PDT SEP 2 1746 UTC SEP 2
the California-Mexico border 1047 PDT SEP 2 1747 UTC SEP 2
Dillingham, Alaska 1136 AKDT SEP 2 1936 UTC SEP 2
Hooper Bay, Alaska 1147 AKDT SEP 2 1947 UTC SEP 2
Little Diomede Island, Alaska 1242 AKDT SEP 2 2042 UTC SEP 2
Nome, Alaska 1438 AKDT SEP 2 2238 UTC SEP 2
Unalakleet, Alaska 1727 AKDT SEP 2 0127 UTC SEP 3



edit on 2/9/2011 by PuterMan because: (no reason given)



posted on Sep, 2 2011 @ 06:49 AM
link   

Originally posted by PuterMan
A tsunami is imminent

wcatwc.arh.noaa.gov...



What do those numbers mean?

You think i have anything to worry about here at sea level Philippines?



posted on Sep, 2 2011 @ 06:51 AM
link   
reply to post by The Great Day
 


Nothing really, they are just arrival times of the wave with no heights.

Philippines? No problem!


000
WEHW42 PHEB 021106
TIBHWX
HIZ001>003-005>009-012>014-016>021-023>026-021306-

TSUNAMI INFORMATION STATEMENT NUMBER 1
NWS PACIFIC TSUNAMI WARNING CENTER EWA BEACH HI
106 AM HST FRI SEP 02 2011

TO - CIVIL DEFENSE IN THE STATE OF HAWAII

SUBJECT - TSUNAMI INFORMATION STATEMENT

THIS STATEMENT IS FOR INFORMATION ONLY. NO ACTION REQUIRED.

AN EARTHQUAKE HAS OCCURRED WITH THESE PRELIMINARY PARAMETERS

ORIGIN TIME - 1256 AM HST 02 SEP 2011
COORDINATES - 51.8 NORTH 171.4 WEST
LOCATION - FOX ISLANDS ALEUTIAN ISLANDS
MAGNITUDE - 7.1 MOMENT

EVALUATION

BASED ON ALL AVAILABLE DATA A DESTRUCTIVE PACIFIC-WIDE TSUNAMI IS
NOT EXPECTED AND THERE IS NO TSUNAMI THREAT TO HAWAII. REPEAT. A
DESTRUCTIVE PACIFIC-WIDE TSUNAMI IS NOT EXPECTED AND THERE IS NO
TSUNAMI THREAT TO HAWAII.

THIS WILL BE THE ONLY STATEMENT ISSUED FOR THIS EVENT UNLESS
ADDITIONAL DATA ARE RECEIVED.

$$


ptwc.weather.gov...

Sea Level data available any minute


Sea level data will be available by 1145UTC.

wcatwc.arh.noaa.gov...


edit on 2/9/2011 by PuterMan because: (no reason given)



posted on Sep, 2 2011 @ 06:53 AM
link   
reply to post by PuterMan
 


This is what The EarthquakeReport says



GDACS calculations are reporting only a tsunami risk of 0.1 meter in unpopulated Nikolski

Wapmerr, the theoretical damage and injury engine has calculated that NO damage or Injuries will be inflicted based on the shaking.


Massive earthquake on the subduction slopes of the unpopulated Alaskan Islands

So no fear for tsunamis. All is well for now.

What about the 4.7 in Utah, anyone got some reports?
edit on 2-9-2011 by intergalactic fire because: (no reason given)



posted on Sep, 2 2011 @ 06:53 AM
link   
Wave buoy data here.
Travel times here

Some news reports in Australia say warning is cancelled but NOAA still red alert.
edit on 2-9-2011 by zenius because: add



posted on Sep, 2 2011 @ 06:54 AM
link   
reply to post by intergalactic fire
 


Agreed very unlikely to cause any damage. I am just reporting what NOAA say.

ALERT LEVEL INFO ONLY FOR WEST COAST

wcatwc.arh.noaa.gov...
edit on 2/9/2011 by PuterMan because: (no reason given)


Energy map now available




edit on 2/9/2011 by PuterMan because: (no reason given)



posted on Sep, 2 2011 @ 07:01 AM
link   
And the aftershocks


Earthquake Details

This event has been reviewed by a seismologist.

Magnitude 4.5
Date-Time

Friday, September 02, 2011 at 11:24:26 UTC
Friday, September 02, 2011 at 03:24:26 AM at epicenter

Location 53.829°N, 168.256°W
Depth 35.2 km (21.9 miles)
Region FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS, ALASKA
Distances

107 km (66 miles) NNE (22°) from Nikolski, AK
114 km (71 miles) W (267°) from Unalaska, AK
164 km (102 miles) W (259°) from Akutan, AK
1367 km (850 miles) WSW (242°) from Anchorage, AK

Location Uncertainty horizontal +/- 25.2 km (15.7 miles); depth +/- 4.7 km (2.9 miles)
Parameters NST= 49, Nph= 49, Dmin=686.8 km, Rmss=1.68 sec, Gp= 90°,
M-type=body wave magnitude (Mb), Version=6
Source

Magnitude: USGS NEIC (WDCS-D)
Location: USGS NEIC (WDCS-D)

Event ID usc0005n8e


earthquake.usgs.gov...



posted on Sep, 2 2011 @ 07:03 AM
link   

The tsunami warning is cancelled



wcatwc.arh.noaa.gov...



posted on Sep, 2 2011 @ 07:04 AM
link   
reply to post by PuterMan
 


That's an interesting energy map, is there a database available?



posted on Sep, 2 2011 @ 07:08 AM
link   
reply to post by intergalactic fire
 


There almost certainly is but I could not get at it!


Forbidden

You are not allowed to access the site by this method. This could be for several reasons. Perhaps you mistyped the URL, or a link to our website has been mistyped from another webpage. We apologize for the inconvenience.

You have several options:

Visit the National Weather Service Site homepage;
Select from the subjects on the left side of this page to find what you are looking for;
Use the search option in the upper right section of this page to search.


I will try some other way.

YUK, sometimes you have to use the links provided!
(I like cruising round unseen directories but don't always manage it)

wcatwc.arh.noaa.gov...

That lists tsunamis back to 1996. Not all have nice maps, but some do. You will have to cruise around it an see what you can see.
edit on 2/9/2011 by PuterMan because: (no reason given)



posted on Sep, 2 2011 @ 07:08 AM
link   
Ok so i can't find anything on USGS from the 4.7 in Utah
only here



posted on Sep, 2 2011 @ 07:10 AM
link   
reply to post by PuterMan
 


They also told me i was forbidden to acces. I was hoping you had some privileges to the site
.

another aftershock
Magnitude: 4.8
DateTime: Friday September 2 2011, 11:27:44 UTC
Region: Fox Islands, Aleutian Islands, Alaska
Depth: 35.2 km
edit on 2-9-2011 by intergalactic fire because: (no reason given)


I like to play with directories, when you come up unto something 'forbidden' you just know they are hiding stuff from you

edit on 2-9-2011 by intergalactic fire because: (no reason given)



posted on Sep, 2 2011 @ 07:14 AM
link   
reply to post by intergalactic fire
 


I am absolutely certain that was a bad computer pick.

It is so close to the Fox one that it has to be that.

Unfortunately some of these sites are VERY slow to react to changed data, and some never do.

ETA:

I edited the post above to give a tsunami database.
edit on 2/9/2011 by PuterMan because: (no reason given)



I was hoping you had some privileges to the site


I wish!! No I am just an ordinary user like everyone else with no special privileges anywhere other than my own computer, and I am not always sure about that when Microsoft sticks it's oar in.


edit on 2/9/2011 by PuterMan because: (no reason given)



posted on Sep, 2 2011 @ 07:15 AM
link   
reply to post by intergalactic fire
 


See this for Utah archive details. www.abovetopsecret.com/forum/thread642778/pg240#pid12223754

Alaska downgraded to 6.8.



posted on Sep, 2 2011 @ 07:18 AM
link   
reply to post by PuterMan
 


Thanks for that link!
Yes sometime you just got to do what they tell you...

thanks jjjtir, i've missed that post
edit on 2-9-2011 by intergalactic fire because: (no reason given)



posted on Sep, 2 2011 @ 07:18 AM
link   
reply to post by jjjtir
 


Alaska down graded? Can't be having another 7 can we so soon after the last!!!


Earthquake Details

This event has been reviewed by a seismologist.

Magnitude 6.8
Date-Time

Friday, September 02, 2011 at 10:55:54 UTC
Friday, September 02, 2011 at 01:55:54 AM at epicenter
Time of Earthquake in other Time Zones

Location 52.185°N, 171.684°W
Depth 35.5 km (22.1 miles)
Region FOX ISLANDS, ALEUTIAN ISLANDS, ALASKA
Distances 45 km (27 miles) SW of Amukta Island, Alaska
85 km (52 miles) SW of Yunaska Island, Alaska
1658 km (1030 miles) WSW of Anchorage, Alaska
2410 km (1497 miles) W of WHITEHORSE, Yukon Territory, Canada
Location Uncertainty horizontal +/- 14 km (8.7 miles); depth +/- 4.4 km (2.7 miles)
Parameters NST=824, Nph=825, Dmin=172.5 km, Rmss=0.81 sec, Gp= 54°,
M-type=centroid moment magnitude (Mw), Version=9
Source

Magnitude: USGS NEIC (WDCS-D)
Location: USGS NEIC (WDCS-D)

Event ID usc0005n83


earthquake.usgs.gov...



posted on Sep, 2 2011 @ 07:32 AM
link   
reply to post by PuterMan
 


Yeah I just saw where it got down graded. So....did Utah have a quake or no?



posted on Sep, 2 2011 @ 07:41 AM
link   
reply to post by MamaJ
 


No, not as far as I can tell.

It was a false pick by a computer.

Trying to get a seismogram but IRIS is dog slow. Must be lots of people looking at the 6.8


edit on 2/9/2011 by PuterMan because: (no reason given)


The main two are now singing from the same hymn sheet


Date/Time UTC,Latitude,Longitude,Magnitude,Depth(Km),Location
EMSC 2011-09-02 10:55:53, 52.190, -171.770, 6.8, 36.0, Fox Isls. Aleutian Isls.
USGS 2011-09-02 10:55:54, 52.185, -171.684, 6.8, 35.5, Fox Isls.






edit on 2/9/2011 by PuterMan because: (no reason given)


Got the seismogram at last

MTPU.UU..ENZ.2011.245

NO 4.7 - Confirmed.
edit on 2/9/2011 by PuterMan because: (no reason given)



new topics

top topics



 
203
<< 238  239  240    242  243  244 >>

log in

join