It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.


Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.


The Zero Year Curse

page: 1

log in


posted on Jun, 27 2004 @ 12:53 AM
In 1811, then Governor William Henry Harrison, gathered an army and marched against a pair of indian leaders (one known as The Prophet and his brother Tecumseh) who were attempting to unite the Shawnee Indian tribes in order to rid themselves of the curse of the white men-alcohol. In this battle, known as the battle of Tippecanoe, Shawnees were slaughtered and in a later battle, The Prophet was killed. Tecumseh joined with the British to fight against the Americans in the war of 1812. When, in 1840, Harrison was elected as president of the U.S., the aging Tecumseh was enraged. He placed a curse on the nemesis who ran a campaign based on slaughtering Indians. The curse is said to be placed on every president that is elected in a year that ends in zero, and that the president will die an untimely death.

One month after he was in office, Harrison died of pneumonia, the first U.S. President to die in office.

In 1860, Lincoln was elected and died during his second term.

In 1880, Garfield was elected and died of a gunshot wound the following year.

In 1900, McKinley was re-elected and died of a two gunshot wounds the next year.

In 1920, Harding was elected and three years later died of a sudden heart attack.

In 1940, Roosevelt was re-elected and during his fourth term died.

In 1960, Kennedy was elected and died in 1963.

In 1980 Reagan broke the tradition by narrowly surviving an assassination attempt.

*Mod edit: always include sources when copying material from other websites.

[edit on 27-6-2004 by Banshee]

posted on Jun, 27 2004 @ 01:00 AM
Covered extensively, including:

ATS search

Feel free to add your thoughts to an existing discussion.

Thread closed.


log in