posted on Jun, 25 2004 @ 02:39 AM
The umpire lost track of the score. Venus Williams lost the match.
In a bizarre conclusion to a huge upset, the chair umpire called the wrong score in the second tiebreaker, and Williams fell in straight sets Thursday
to Croatia's Karolina Sprem in the second round at Wimbledon.
This match overshadowed all others not because of the umpire's mistake, but rather because of the incredible upset victory by the Coratian.
Fortunately, for the game, Venus is not blaming her loss on the umpire's mistake.