It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.


Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.


Weird Military website warns you are being monitored

page: 4
<< 1  2  3    5  6 >>

log in


posted on Sep, 18 2010 @ 01:46 PM

Originally posted by greeneyedleo
Since everyone is so scared to proceed thru the warning screen:

Screen Shot

edit on September 18th 2010 by greeneyedleo because: (no reason given)

I got that far. I did not try to get any farther when it started ask for a password. It seems to be a web site ran by and for the Department of Defense. I am staying away from that site. I wonder how that URL even got out in the first place.

posted on Sep, 18 2010 @ 02:03 PM
Kinda makes me want to post something there like "MISSION ACCOMPLISHED !!!! watch this drive"

posted on Sep, 18 2010 @ 02:04 PM
Try this link that allows you to visit through a seo text browser in side your own browser. It will show you the links and allow you to browse safely through

Seems to be more of a social website for military personal. Facebook style with news and media for armed forces. Nothing secret.

Massachusetts - Cambridge - Akamai Technologies is hosting the site.
The links I find from the site seem interesting.

;; AUTHORITY SECTION (8 records) 10945 IN NS USW3.AKAM.NET. 10945 IN NS NS1-61.AKAM.NET. 10945 IN NS USC1.AKAM.NET. 10945 IN NS EUR2.AKAM.NET. 10945 IN NS NS1-127.AKAM.NET. 10945 IN NS USE1.AKAM.NET. 10945 IN NS NS1-122.AKAM.NET. 10945 IN NS ASIA2.AKAM.NET.

NS1-61.AKAM.NET. 87997 IN A
NS1-122.AKAM.NET. 82644 IN A

But I don't see the first ip numbers showing up as secure military ip numbers.
Heres a list of some from hurricane looking glass.
AS27064 DoD Network Information Center

edit on 18-9-2010 by JBA2848 because: (no reason given)

posted on Sep, 18 2010 @ 03:29 PM
Does anyone else notice that the logo looks like the Dharma Initiative logo from Lost?

edit on 18-9-2010 by ampaf707 because: (no reason given)

posted on Sep, 18 2010 @ 04:58 PM
reply to post by OTTOKARMA

Probably loops back into an ABC monitoring station.

That way, they can get curious about the curious.

posted on Sep, 18 2010 @ 05:01 PM
Sounds like flypaper to me. Don't stick around.

posted on Sep, 18 2010 @ 05:01 PM
reply to post by ampaf707

That's a bad thing to do man.

Masking an IP destination address as an image file, is not on.

Especially when people are saying they don't want to go there.

I'd edit it out if i were you, before a mod issues a warning.

posted on Sep, 18 2010 @ 06:07 PM
on looking around there are an awful lot of email address and ip's so
one could get in a bit of a mess if one really wanted trouble.
but apart from that just a us air force web site and search engine.
as for what is behind the log in is beyond me and i cant be ass
to sign up.not worth any hassle.

posted on Sep, 18 2010 @ 07:05 PM
Did anyone noticed the "LANGLEY 1 -NET"? Oh, well I'm sure it's perfectly fine. I woul- oops- hang on, guys- someone's knocking at the front door.Be right back.........

posted on Sep, 18 2010 @ 07:19 PM
reply to post by ATLien

There's nothing about this website that is irregular. I hooked up my military CAC card reader just to see there was anything else on the site, and there isn't. The bad web certificate is common with ALL military websites. You'll get that warning almost everytime you visit a .mil address.

posted on Sep, 18 2010 @ 07:35 PM
I logged in and all I got was


posted on Sep, 18 2010 @ 08:45 PM
It don't seem like there hiding any pages from bots.

User-agent: *
Crawl-delay: 10
Disallow: /photos/media_email.asp
Disallow: /news/story_email.asp
Disallow: /news/video/
Disallow: /rss/

posted on Sep, 18 2010 @ 08:51 PM
Just a big storage of unclassified documents, I had a look for scalar stuff, gravity anything like that and no results.. I don't really give a crap about their warnings. What are they going to do? Try to take a sovereign to court for pushing buttons hahaha...

posted on Sep, 18 2010 @ 11:24 PM
ok. there isnt anything to be scared of. i myself am military, and i do have to say, i see that warning alot.. its just basically the military's way of covering their asses just in case someone visits the site, and try's to hack it, or send a virus through or something. its basically telling you its going to log every move you make so if you F up, then they know who did it and why, how, when, ect...

posted on Sep, 18 2010 @ 11:39 PM
I got on it and it was nothing really eye catching. Just looked like a search data base. Nothing happened to my computer yet so I suppose its safe

posted on Sep, 19 2010 @ 01:55 AM
First off I would like to thank whoever supplied the "Whois", I'm not familiar with this site and couldn't find a user name. Anyway: Thank you.

The "Whois" data says it's a network at Maxwell AFB (MAFB) and Gunter Annex (a smaller Air Force base also located in Montgomery, Alabama). If I remember correctly, Maxwell used to be ATC (Air Training Command) headquarters for the Air Force, so yes, I would say it's main purpose is still training. There was also an Air Force regional hospital there. Gunter AFB is just an annex of Maxwell AFB. I certainly don't see any mystery in that!

Heck, I spent my first 18 yrs. living on Air Force bases. I can't recall any of them being "Top Secret" though.

To the "snoopers":
Mighty nosy, ain't we? That may have been my medical records you were trying to look at! I had eye surgery at Maxwell in 1973. I'm not too sure I like that!

See ya.

Ha, I found it! That red, on a dark background, was hard for me to read. Thank you!

edit on 19-9-2010 by BenReclused because: To add PS

edit on 19-9-2010 by BenReclused because: To correct wording

posted on Sep, 19 2010 @ 02:37 AM
Lovin the lost tie in...

Miss that show and was not a big fan of the ending

posted on Sep, 19 2010 @ 02:45 AM
had this crazy idea to wiki it... so i did...

Military OneSource services include: • A 24-hour call center staffed with master’s-level consultants familiar with the military lifestyle. They answer questions and provide resources and referrals on everyday issues such as finding child care, dealing with stress, helping children deal with a parent’s deployment, reunion and reintegration after combat duty, making a PCS move, creating a budget, caring for older relatives, making large-scale consumer purchases, and finding services in the local and military communities.

maybe they're one in the same???

edit on 19-9-2010 by BlastedCaddy because: (no reason given)

posted on Sep, 19 2010 @ 03:01 AM
Check it, mystery solved? They have a youtube chan, w/ tutorials .

OneSource youtube chan

posted on Sep, 19 2010 @ 05:38 AM

Originally posted by badw0lf
reply to post by OTTOKARMA

As I mentioned earlier..

Either way, getting unsuspecting people to hit the servers from ATS is poor form, IMO. Especially when the intent was not to really query the situation, but to go "Ah its lame, I've moved on to the next one." and basically leave people hitting the site en masse for no reason.

Which begs the question of why?

I mean, the skeptic in me says not to trust a member with an account that is barely over two-months old, that links me to a website claimed to monitor you, that my browser warns me not to even open up!

Not to mention the fact that the same member starts posting off-topic items about UFOs' and new threads they created.

No offense OP, I'm not claiming your intentions were anything more than simply innocuous.
My skepticism just trumps my curiosity, I guess.

I won't bother to click the link with that many red flags, but hey, you're all welcome to figure out the mystery and report back!

As many of you have already stated it is probably nothing...or possibly something.

- Lee

top topics

<< 1  2  3    5  6 >>

log in