It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Yes, 'Wendy C.', you are a special interest

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Aug, 11 2010 @ 11:44 AM
link   
I just opened my email inbox and saw a subject that caught my eye... "I am not a special interest"... and the attached email made me think.

It was all about a schoolteacher who was in jeopardy of losing her job. She was lobbying for some bill that gave Federal money to her local school system to cover budget shortfalls, and was complaining because some had called the bill a 'special interest' bill. She emphasized at one point "I am not a special interest - I am a teacher".

There is a thread in this email, and a conspiracy. The thread you are reading now; the conspiracy is this:

Yes, you are a special interest!

Now I have no problem with this bill in particular. IMHO teachers are some of the most under-paid and under-appreciated people in the public sector. They deserve their jobs much more than CEOs who have failed deserve their bonuses. That's not the point, and if you think it is you have missed the entire point of this thread.

A special interest is an interest which is special, i.e. not general. A highway serves everyone (or at least the vast majority) by allowing easier travel and transport of goods. A park serves everyone by providing a place to enjoy oneself and experience nature (or a facsimile thereof) for those who are unable to see the real deal. A library brings knowledge and information to everyone around it. These are general interests, as they provide a benefit for everyone.