It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

How Social Networks Affect Us -- A TED Talk

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Jun, 22 2010 @ 08:00 PM
link   
This is a wonderful talk I watched on my Iphone the other day about how social networks, online or offline have a profound effect on our individuality and our choices in life.

Please watch the video and post your comments.

What are your thoughts folks?

~Keeper

posted on Jun, 22 2010 @ 08:08 PM
link   
Here's a bit of the transcript from the video.

For me, this story begins about 15 years ago, when I was a hospice doctor at the University of Chicago. And I was taking care of people who were dying, and their families, in the South Side of Chicago. And I was observing what happened to people and their families over the course of their terminal illness. And in my lab,

I was studying the widower effect, which is a very old idea in the social sciences, going back 150 years, known as "dying of a broken heart." So, when I die, my wife's risk of death can double, for instance, in the first year. And I had gone to take care of one particular patient, a woman who was dying of dementia. And, in this case, unlike this couple, she was being cared for by her daughter. And the daughter was exhausted from caring for her mother.

And the daughter's husband, he also was sick from his wife's exhaustion. And I was driving home one day, and I get a phone call from the husband's friend, calling me because he was depressed about what was happening to his friend. So here I get this call from this random guy that's having an experience that's being influenced by people at some social distance.