It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Europe and USA

page: 1
<<   2  3 >>

join
share:

posted on May, 30 2010 @ 06:42 PM
link   
Lately i have noticed a trend here on ATS. Maybe its because im relatively new to ATS. But this trend is been happening since the united states began:USA bashing.
Why is there so much bashing going on?

For those of us in the united states let me assure you its not because of the deeds that our government has done that europe hates us.

The simple truth is....europe has pretty much ALWAYS hated us. It is pretty much a fact of life. Europe has always thought of us as violent uncouth idiots. Ever since our nation was founded we have been hated by almost the whole of europe.

I will try to provide some insight into why this is. But first let us define what 'anti-americanism' is.

Definitions of the term anti-Americanism have been much debated. German newspaper publisher and political scientist Josef Joffe suggests five classic aspects of the phenomenon: reducing Americans to stereotypes, believing the United States to have an irremediably evil nature, ascribing to the U.S. establishment a vast conspiratorial power aimed at utterly dominating the globe, holding the United States responsible for all the evils in the world, and seeking to limit the influence of the United States by destroying it or by cutting oneself and one's society off from its polluting products and practices.

There....thats pretty much the definition of anti-americanism that spawns so much of the USA bashing we have seen lately. Those that blame the united states for everything in the world.

Now that we got the definition down pat...let us go into the time machine to the 18th and 19th century...let us see what our ancestors had to deal with on a day to day basis....oh those silly europeans