It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Meltdown: A Technical Critique

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Jun, 6 2004 @ 07:33 PM
link   
I am currently watching Meltdown, a made-for-tv movie, on FX. The premise of the movie is that terrorists take over a nuclear power plant, and attempt to use it as a bomb. I have noticed some large technical errors. I am a nuclear engineer, and I have worked in a nuclear power plant as recently as last year. I'm going to point out some of the errors I see in this movie, and try to dispell any myths that this movie will generate regarding the safety of nuclear power.

1. First, access to the plant: there are several physical barriers to entry. First, there is a gated checkpoint several hundred yards away from the plant. Next, the road leading to the main gate is set up in such a way that a straigh-shot towards the gate is not possible. The main gate itself is a very sturdy structure, and is rated to survive to impact of a large truck (exact specifications unknown). To gain access to the plant proper, personnel must go through a gauntlet of checks, and the guards that control the gates are enclosed in a very secure booth.
  2. The security officers in the movie are portrayed as little more that "rent-a-cops." This couldn't be further from the truth. The actual security force is a highty trained paramilitary group. Many of the guards carry AR-15 assault rifles in addition to their sidearms, and they are prepared to use them.
  3. If the control room operators want to shut the reactor down, they don't have to go through a "pre-shutdown procedure." The systems are designed with safety as the first priority, so if the operators deem it necessary, they can instantly "SCRAM" the reactor. Very little other action is necessary to maintain the reactor in a safe shutdown state.