It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Some weird connection difficulties. Namely IE and Quickbooks

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Apr, 29 2010 @ 05:30 PM
link   
Hello ATSers. I've come across a very interesting behaviors with my computer here at work.

First, I am using a Anthlon2 dual core 2.6 ghz on an MSI N-Force Professional Series motherboard 4 gigs ddr2 sata HD and Windows XP Pro SP3 and a Wireless Card.

My Computer is connected and firefox works perfectly. However my major issue is getting updates for Quickbooks. It tells me that there is no internet connection. AKA Error "12029". Internet Explorer does the same thing and will not load web pages at all. When I run a connection test it fails even though I am obviously connected to the internet.

I've tried turning off the firewall. I've tried resetting IE as I figured maybe IE is the catalyst for the QB connection to the internet. I don't know if this is true though as IE still does the same thing. I've also tried the add/remove windows components with IE to reinstall it.

P.S. IE won't even let me into "internet options".

This is starting to piss me off. ANY HELP WOULD BE APPRICIATED OH ATS GURUS OF ALL!!!

posted on Apr, 30 2010 @ 03:50 AM
link   
Are you using the Windows firewall or a third party firewall?

TheAssoc.

posted on Apr, 30 2010 @ 09:45 AM
link   
reply to post by TheAssociate

Windows firewall.

posted on Apr, 30 2010 @ 06:50 PM
link   
Try switching to ZoneAlarm Firewall. It's free and might help in the situation. You can go into the program and set which programs are allowed to access the internet and what type of access they are allowed to have.

If it doesn't help, it's still better than the useless Windows firewall.