It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Apparent increase in earthquake activity? One Prof. seems to think so!

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Apr, 18 2010 @ 12:59 PM
link   
I know there is quite a bit of debate here about whether or not there is an increase in earthquake activity .

I, myself, believe that there is..Im no expert, mind you. Some people here on ATS say that there is not an increase, but just an increase in reporting, or an increase in populated areas.

There is a professor here in my home town, Rolla Missouri, who seems to believe differently also. His name is Dr. Stephen Gao, professor of geological sciences and engineering at Missouri University of Science and Technology. He will be giving a seminar tomorrow about his findings..but Id like to share a bit of it with you.

A series of devastating earthquakes in the past several years has triggered widespread debates over whether the Earth has entered an unprecedented period of earthquake activity.
Is Mother Nature out of control? What is the current status of earthquake prediction? Statistically, how significant is the recent increase in activity? Stephen S. Gao, a geophysics professor at Missouri University of Science and Technology in the United States, is one of the scientists who argued that the Earth has been witnessing increased activity.

"It is clear that the Earth is significantly more active over the past 15 years than the 20 years before," he told Xinhua in a recent interview.