It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

With Air Travel In EU Grounded... Where are all the Zeppelins??

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Apr, 17 2010 @ 10:19 AM
link   
Im not a plane expert by any means, hence the question...
Maybe this whole thing with the volcanic cloud across Europe could make aircraft designers think more out of the box in terms of aircraft design..

Maybe with current technology the old Zeppelin idea could be updated... They could be made huge, be solar powered so be greener than airplanes... They can go high too as was proved by that guy who sent a balloon outside the earths atmosphere and took pics of the earth....

Just a thought.... Do any of you guys know how feasable it would be?

posted on Apr, 17 2010 @ 10:28 AM
link   
reply to post by Yissachar1

Hi!

Not sure about Zeppelins - I know there are a couple of companies still designing 'airships'. Link below might be of interest?

www.modern-airships.info...

Also I'm in Berlin and the Rosinen Bomber (the Raisin Bomber) a DC3 used in the Berlin airlift is quite happily flying around - slow, at at low altitude and with propellers - but at least it's moving!

Peace!

posted on Apr, 17 2010 @ 10:32 AM
link   
Seems the planes are gonna be grounded a while.

Aviation experts say the volcanic plume has caused the worst travel disruption Europe – and the world – has ever seen.

"I've been flying for 40 years but I've never seen anything like this in Europe," said Swedish pilot Axel Alegren, after landing his flight from Kabul, Afghanistan, at Munich Airport; he had been due to land at Frankfurt but was diverted.