It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Our Cold and Lonely Universe

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Apr, 4 2010 @ 09:29 AM
link   
Hi Eveyone, I want to talk a little about a topic that interests me greatly Extra Terrestrial Life and more importantly intelligent life and where my current opinion lies on the subject.

I know that there are many threads and discussions that will overlap with this one and that is great! if you have any resources that will add to this discussion please link or refer to them.

Ok this will be simple and I am not an expert so enlighten me if you can.

Currently we have bee trying to look for ET life in using some different techniques mainly radio and optical as in the SETI project. There are some major points as to the effectiveness of these methods. It is unlikely that ET life would have evolved along a similar path as we did and therefore would not have the same sense organs.

SETI Debate

So sending or receiving signals is out of the picture.

Ok are they visiting us,have they or will they? now I know from being on ATS all the usual answers to this but in my opinion probably not.

What about humans developing interstellar travel? never say never but the problems involved are huge and the distances mind boggling. Now no one can see the future but this leads me onto the title of this thread "Our Cold and Lonely Universe".

Interstelar Travel

We will never make contact with ET life, We will probably not become an interstellar civilisation of the capacity to make contact likely.

Machines will probably be a good choice be to explore the galaxy first and the convergence of man and machine might be a way around this problem.

Also planet hunting will help pinpoint planets capable of supporting life and therefore act as a focus for any efforts we make.